[Symphony41] #2 The basic problem of humanity

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)

As some of you maybe guessed, my previous post was an allegory of human life. Every one of us is in the occupied city. Each of us is waiting for a round-up, that is death. Despite the development of science, hopes of avoiding it still seem slim. And, unfortunately, it’s still difficult to be sure what awaits us after death.

Lots of people trust that there’s nothing after death. It may be a sad scenario, but compared to eternal suffering it’s a quite optimistic option. Others, in turn, believe in the solutions that their religion or philosophy offers them. We’ve gotten used to the simple division into atheists, Catholics, Buddhists, etc. However, I think that there’s quite a large group that doesn’t fit in these simple divisions. A group for which the answer to the issue of death is only more or less desperate "I don’t know."

I belong to this group too and I primarily dedicate this series to it. Although I still try to believe in a scenario that seems the most certain to me, that’s a faith full of doubts that don’t let me live. So I’ve decided to carry out an investigation to answer this one key question: what should I do in life, as a human being, to minimize the risk of suffering after death?

I will point out here that my approach to the subject is very strict and quite specific. I assume that I won’t get to the final answer to this question. However, what I’m interested in is a set of all possible variants with rationally calculated probabilities for them. I want to draw the philosophical essence from the human heritage, and then choose not the most probable option, but the safest one - and that likely won’t be the same. If concentration camps are a false rumor for 80%, isn’t it worth protecting in case they aren’t?

Of course, the subject is controversial and I am defective. I have a preliminary plan of action, though it will certainly change many times. First of all, I want to focus on the exploration of materials and on interviews with people, and my main problem is the selection of appropriate materials and people. I also promise to be self-critical, as the human mind, unfortunately, is very often wrong - which, by the way, I intend to write about more later.

For today that’s all, in the next post I’ll try to address some specifics. And in the meantime I encourage you to guess where the name of this project came from.

TL;DR

  • explanation of the analogy from the previous chapter - the round-up means death
  • many people have their own answer to the problem of death and what is after it, but I write to those who have doubts
  • my goal: to find the most certain ways to avoid suffering after death
  • I assume I won’t get the final answer, but I'm interested in a set of possible variants and choosing the safest one
  • as part of my investigation I intend to explore materials and conduct interviews, I promise to be self-critical

poland-flag-icon-32.png wersja polska

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64