VicTim of CircumstancesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy7 years ago

Meet Victoria Timothy, or VicTim for short. Victoria is a normal human, in the sense that she refuses to admit her own divinity. As a result, she ends up blaming events and circumstances, (NB: That she unknowingly creates) for her miserable state of being. 

This is not a story about the ‘law of attraction’, it’s a story about personal responsibility. 

Recently, Victoria lost her job at the local fast food feeding hole, to an automated robot; which had only slightly less enthusiasm in its function than its biological predecessors. The mass-programmed human response to such an event would be somewhere between anger and despair. She did not disappoint the Matrix sorcerers; she quickly went down a spiral of depression and a hatred of all machines (See Will Smith in I-Robot).  

She started blaming everything she could for her predicament: The boss who decided to automate their branch, his bosses in headquarters, Robots in general, Profiteering Corporations in general, Capitalism in general, and God (Although she’s an Atheist most of the time, except for ultimate blaming and orgasms) . 

All of these were legitimate points in the chain that contributed to this outcome. Yes, her outrage may have been justified, but only useful for the first couple of minutes. After that it started harming her and preventing her from extracting the experiential wisdom from the situation, but more importantly, stopped her from moving forward with all the opportunities this presented her with. When this event occurred, we would argue that she could have breezed through all the anger and resentment through the first short while, extracted all the experiential wisdom from those, and then meditated on the greater revelation that could have been realized. 

The questions she defaulted to sounded something like:

  • What have I done to deserve this?
  • How am I going to afford to live now?
  • Who will feed my 5 cats and pet rabbit?
  • Why do bad things always happen to me?
  • Why does the Universe hate me? 

Again, we would argue that more useful questions would sound something like: 

  • What can I learn from this experience?
  • What opportunities does this open up?
  • Why was I at that crappy job in the first place?
  • Do I have too many cats?
  • How can I show gratitude for the Universe Loving me so? 

We would not dream of saying that asking these questions comes naturally to an indoctrinated human mind. However, with diligent training, one can achieve a level of self-mastery that will allow an interjection into one’s stream of thought. It starts with noticing that there IS a gap between stimulus and response, and that within that gap, is Infinity. 

Decide, that the next time something ‘unpleasant’ occurs in your field; you will make a concerted effort to logically analyze and ask a useful question before you react emotionally. It will eventually turn into second nature, and you’ll find yourself having more useful reactions to more situations...  

We are not saying it’s easy to overcome any given situation... we are sharing one method which we used in this incarnation with much success.


 
We wish you health, wealth and everything resonating with your highest good.       

P.S. Thanks for reading my first Real Post on STEEMIT! 

Sort:  

I find this so interesting, I literally just posted something about myself that has a errily similar message. I guess this is all part of the human or dare i say spiritual experience that is our lives. Great post man thank you for reaffirming all I had just realized. If you don't believe me lol check my most recent post. Different, but very much the same.
much love, brother/sister.

if i could upvote you twice, i would. following!

Well if you really want to you can vote on my poem I just uploaded yesterday... might find it interesting... I read your latest post... situations like that really make you take stock and have gratitude for what's important... I hope/know all will return to normal soon after the flooding... stay safe and dry... following...

Interesting post, insightful

Brilliant written. Welldone. A chain of positivity is key but starting thechain is the real gritty bit.

Thanks so much for your support...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90