You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Understanding Solarpunk 101 - When Solar Meets Decentralisation Technologies

in #philosophy7 years ago

Thanks for posting on this, Kevin, I had not come across it before.

After reading your post and the kdhume reference, I have to say that "I like it a lot!" I am very much enthused at the notion of being caretakers of the earth, as I feel that is part of our original purpose as humans.

I of course also very much like the "individual contribution" part, the "no apocalypse necessary" component, and that it doesn't bash technology or wealth.

I find it also quite reminiscent of Gerard K. O'Neil's leadership in the development of a conceptual and engineering framework for Space Colonies. Appreciated! 😄😇😄

@creatr

Sort:  

After reading your post and the kdhume reference, I have to say that "I like it a lot!" I am very much enthused at the notion of being caretakers of the earth, as I feel that is part of our original purpose as humans.

I of course also very much like the "individual contribution" part, the "no apocalypse necessary" component, and that it doesn't bash technology or wealth.

That's one of the reasons it pulled me into checking it out too. And it's actually not very easy for Solarpunk writers to write something very impactful.. because dramatic elements are somehow difficult to introduce. I guess there needs to be more folks exploring this genre and find out what can go wrong. The thing is, solarpunk doesn't admit perfection.. it's part accepting that our first nature is the unfiltered, undisturbed natural world.. and then our second nature is the cultured world

I find it also quite reminiscent of Gerard K. O'Neil's leadership in the development of a conceptual and engineering framework for Space Colonies. Appreciated!

This is the first I've seen of this lol - thanks! Personally I think that space travel will solve irreconcilable differences between people, but at the same time, it'll also spread our "stupidity" all around the universe.. LOL.

The universe is a very, very, very large place! Large, I think, beyond our ability to imagine. Seems to me that it would be pretty hard for us to truly mess up the whole thing. Then again, I guess we've done a bang-up job with earth... ;)

As Einstein said, two things are infinite... :) Could it be he case of infinite force meeting immovable object? What spreads faster, universe or human stupidity?

Hahahaha!

We can only hope that, similar to light, there is a limit to the speed of stupidity! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67755.59
ETH 3831.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67