You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 85% and then: Brainwashing children

in #philosophy6 years ago

I am a trained early childhood teacher and it is sad seeing children light up whenever they see a screen. I hated seeing them all surround screens. Children dont need screens at all to learn. It makes adults into zombies so i wonder what it is doing to devloping brains?

Alot of parents need to change their mindset -a screen is just an easy babysitter!

Sort:  

A lot of parents need to change their mindset -a screen is just an easy babysitter!

Maybe an easy babysitter but, at what cost?

I suspect that the damage won't be really seen for a decade or two still but will speed up in its obviousness.

Yeah it must be really bad on people attention span. Im sure technology has affected my attention in the last few years with ipads/phones etc.

I also find it sad going into docters rooms and seeing parents playing on there phone while their child is there. This is a perfect oppurtunity to spend time with your child

I agree on this babysitting thing (as well as the original post); most parents use gadgets just to entertain their kids when they don't feel like it or have the energy. I actually just talked about this topic with an acquaintance so it's funny to come across this text now. We both agreed on that if you have kids, it's your responsibility to raise them and that includes also dealing with negative emotions and crankyness. It's parents job to be "the vad guy" sometimes and by that I mean they must teach their kids to deal with disappointments and not just go with the easy way when they are not in the mood of listening to whining.

@meandyou yes I see it all the time! Yeah I really dont want any gadgets around when children are around. In theory adults can manage their screen use - but children dont know how to manage it and it cant be good on their developing brains.

Sometimes being a parent means being an adult :P

It's a big responsibility to raise a child and a full-time job too in which you can't choose the easy way. I appreciate your approach.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63017.22
ETH 2457.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61