Decentralization: wouldn't it be great?

in #philosophy7 years ago

With decentralization we transfer the authority of production from a central organization to local entities. It is the process of redistributing power away from central locations.

With regards to politics, Alexis de Tocqueville maintained that:

Decentralization has, not only an administrative value, but also a civic dimension, since it increases the opportunities for citizens to take interest in public affairs; it makes them get accustomed to using freedom. And from the accumulation of these local, active, persnickety freedoms, is born the most efficient counterweight against the claims of the central government, even if it were supported by an impersonal, collective will.

We could decentralize the production of law and order, the power of energy production, the power of governmental systems etc.

Sustainable energy, like solar, decentralizes energy production. Would it not be great if everyone could produce their own energy?

Seasteading decentralizes governmental systems. Would it not be great if everyone could freely move to societies or communities with governmental systems they prefer?

Cryptocurrency decentralizes money production. Would it not be great if you could freely choose to use currencies that you prefer, instead of being forced by governments to use theirs?


If you enjoy reading this article, please consider following me. I mainly write about philosophy, economics, and my travels.

Follow me @chhaylin
E-mail: [email protected]
Wordpress: www.chhaylinlim.wordpress.com
Sort:  

law and order, the power of energy production, the power of governmental systems

Most people still don't grasp the power that centralized banking wields over things like that. It has insidiously worked it's way into every nook & cranny of modern society.

They control the flow of money and thereby control virtually every aspect of our lives.

Thank you for the comments on my posts. I enjoy reading them a lot.

Regarding the control of the flow of money, I entirely agree with you. That's why I think that taking away the monopolistic power over money production is the single most important issue for a free society.

It feels good to be invested in crypto - not just for financial reasons, but also for philosophical reasons.

You're welcome and thank you for posting content I won't find anywhere else and for being understanding when I ask dumb questions.

If there was a libertarian ocean floating island I would be the first to move there! I can't wait for something like this. It would be a great day when we don't have to rely on governments to protect our life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.

If you would be the first, I would be second. Btw, I will post a philosophical article on Seasteading some time this week. You may be interested to read it. ;)

It would be nice to have more say in my life, without having to wonder if a completely harmless and impact less activity is "allowed"

Yeah! I would love to live a life where I don't have to wonder about that as well.

The blockchain can even allow houses to talk and transfer value to each other! It can bring neighborhoods alive.

Ha, yes! :) Read stuff like this sparks my imagination of what may be possible. The future is bright...

Nice post. I just Followed you. Please follow me.

Good post!

I'm trying to give people the benefit of the doubt.

I've seen lots of posts recently about spammy F4F comments and bots upvoting comments I'd like to think new people really just don't know any better. I hope they either un-learn bad habits and start contributing or just get discouraged with the 0.01 that they earn for all their hard work and move on.

I have to admit that I used to add some personal message when I sent that link but it's becoming a bit tedious.

Bitcoin is great but energy from air or sun is powerful, do you imagine that everybody can access to houses like this? we will have the best way to pay by something and the best way to get energy in our homes

It would be great if everyone could access such houses. I imagine a future where everyone can produce their own energy. :)

Yes man we need to get energy without kill our planet

Now, i doubt, but in a decentralized world, it may be possible eventually.

If everything was decentralised it would be amazing.
To have peace, order and liberty in this world, ironically we need anarchy

Yeah! Peace, order and liberty emerges naturally in anarchy. :)

Have you written a post on this? I'd love to have a better understanding of how all that can emerge from anarchy, I guess I always thought it would lead to everyone stepping all over everyone else.

I haven't written a post about it yet. But this video is a good starting point:

It clearly explains how order can practically emerge from anarchy.

But doesn't a system like this promote the laws of the wealthiest individuals who can pay more for the rules they want to live by then the people who want something different but can't afford to pay the company enough to get that?

That would be a dream come true.

Hi @chhaylin and Everyone,

Our team, @EOS9CAT came with a very short explanation and hope it would be helpful for everyone here.

Distributed means not all the processing of the transactions are done in the same place. This does not mean that those distributed processors aren't under the control of a single entity. (Think of gas stations, there are Shell stations all over yet all are Shell)

Decentralized means that not one single entity has control over all the processing. By nature, this implies that it is distributed among various parties.

eos9cat - vote for us.png

If you need any other questions, please feel free to send us an email at [email protected] or visit our website

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66524.25
ETH 3616.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81