You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The rise of the clones (steem clones)

in #philosophy6 years ago

After the HF issue I saw quite a few people pumping whaleshares and weku but I don't get it, whats the value of using these platform when this one has hardly made it through its growing pains. or is it just making sure you have a horse in every race?

Sort:  

Yeah, the difference between us and Whaleshares/Weku/Scorum/etc. is that we're dealing with the problems now that they will be dealing with in the future. Maybe they'll handle them better by learning from our example, but you certainly won't avoid them by switching.

I honestly dunno about weku, though checked their block refreshment and it is bad. I have superlimited time so justvon steemit and yes whaleshares because they were the first discord community to help me on steem. So I am over there because some of the steemian friends I made are there. Not thinkng I can get bigger, I am not ambitious and whatever growth I have on steemit was made organically. Not leaving steem at all unless I leave all blockchains and crypto all together and could happen if only cos my time is limited. @meno knows I am ver committed to do things right

Pretty much and I'm with Poly on this one, once they start getting real blockchain bloat, they will have to come up with ways to deal with it, or they just won't make it.

The hardware requirements for nodes just get ridiculous.

Thanks @tcpolymath, @yidneth and @meno for the pretty interesting feedback!

Also the % of people using Steem clones who are not steemians I would assume is a very small percentage and probably a lot of cross posting going on then! So its not only a replica in tech and design but content too so are you really missing out on much?

From the chatter ive heard about it a lot of what attracts people is seeing the $ value attached to payouts that are so high, rewards sound high because people are basing it on steemit value/dollar exchange. I mean who knows if or when these tokens will ever be worth anything but i'm hearing people go I got 20 Weku Dollars for a post I got 10 cents for when I posted on steemit.

Thanks but 20 dollars of nothing is still nothing. I'll sit back for now and If it does blow up I'm happy to be told I was wrong and become a late adopter!

I'm going to stick into Steemit for sure and because It's the one I've invested the more time to build a feed in. I like a consistent feed. I like whaleshares because they have some slightly different features I like (shares apart from your feed) and because on my first post in steemit they kind of welcomed me in, so logically those people were my steemian friends and it's "NOT" my split and I don't think they see it as a split themselves but I'm here on steemit cos of the people and on ws for the same thing... the payouts coudl be nothing you're right... And now I see more and more and more... my time is limited, I don't even want them to be exact clones of my content, I'm going to upcycle yes, but probably will choose a different approach... I'll see
haven't checked weku but saw the blocks refresh not often and I don't think it's sustainable long term... might be wrong though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55336.50
ETH 2312.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33