You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crossing Streams

in #philosophy7 years ago

Thanks for this incredibly on point post!

     I was just thinking on many of the points you mentioned here just yesterday! Orwell either predicted this or warned us about it! This is a fantastic post. I have been having difficulties lately trying to help some see different points of view without them either thinking I am attacking them or that I believe the perspective being offered for consideration. I never like to give the answers away... but as you said... help people analyze their perspectives with critical analysis in order to better understand their own views.

     I often find myself in the position of the devil's advocate... not because of my own views, but just to invoke thought into the counter points others may hold. There is great opportunity for growth and development in healthy discussion, debate, and even civil argumentation. I never mind any of those things... but for me, ( I am probably guilty myself more than I realize) One of the biggest challenges in proper communication is the art of listening. Not JUST listening... but hearing! I find many opportunities to receive and impart knowledge obstructed latently by deaf ears. I guess discerning with wisdom and experience when to cut your losses or to wait for another opportunity to further discussion may serve the greater good most efficiently! Patience and Grace can be difficult to embody at times. I appreciate your thoughts!

Sort:  

I often find myself in the position of the devil's advocate... not because of my own views, but just to invoke thought into the counter points others may hold. There is great opportunity for growth and development in healthy discussion, debate, and even civil argumentation.

Do you find (like I do) that many people are unable to differentiate you from the argument? I often find that as Devil's Advocate, people very quickly start believing I hold that position, not that I am playing the part. Doesn't matter for me but I find it interesting even when I state beforehand.

That's precisely what I was saying. It's almost like an outer body experience watching it go down. It makes me sad that true communication is so difficult. Sometimes, I almost feel it's me that needs to learn how to adapt the same information in a more successful approach rather than expect others to be able to make those connections in the data. It's easy to be guilty in this sense by association, even when we aren't associating with the information but just presenting it! This whole subject and topic is interesting. Learning to be a ferry barge crossing the stream rather than going up or down the current is the true challenge! I just want to help myself and others cross the gap.

I wonder if it better for the argument if you stay in the role (as you can take the backlash) as it means they are more likely to be 'letting loose' on the topic. May not be fun though, especially with some very aggressive people.

I will buckle up and make sure to put on my helmet! hahah Thanks =) I never mind taking one for the team!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35