You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemtopia #5: Relationship Between Body and Soul

in #philosophy8 years ago

"You aren't a human having a spiritual experience, you are a spirit having a human experience."

I don't remember the exact quote or who said it, but I like it.

I can feel my soul and my body as being very distinct. I tell my little kids, "Your body is telling you that you need to go potty!" - - as if it's a separate thing doing the talking. And our bodies do talk to us, if we'll listen.

It is mostly bacteria and flesh (which cycles out continuously.) You do not have the same body you did a year ago, yet your soul is intact . Weird, huh? What part of you keeps your memories, your talents, who you are?

I think of the relationship very much like a symbiosis. Our bodies evolved over millions of years, our souls came from Heaven. Our bodies take care of linking us to this mortal world. They process food, keep the heart pumping. They take care of our primal needs, like creating the next generation, and exhibit more primal behaviors, like anger.

It is when our spirits, or souls, can learn to control our bodies that we can really be happy. It's when our bodies are in control that we bring ourselves misery.

I remind my kids when they are making poor choices, "Who is in control, you or your body?" You might ask yourself the same thing when a decision is to be made.

Sort:  

@casandrarose the quote is from Pierre Teilhard de Chardin
But I think I was the one the told it to you first, about 5 years ago. It's one of my goto's for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70