Would You Go Back in Time to Fix Your 'Mistakes'?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy7 years ago

Then.jpg
(The Author as a Child)

I think, if a person is honest with themselves, they can look back on their lives and truly pinpoint where both their good AND their poor decisions completely altered their lives.

Whether for good or for ill, those decisions led to other happenings in your life, each one taking you on a different path or putting you in the direction of something else that might be life-changing or life-altering. Again, some good, some not.

I'm almost 40 now and I'm certainly prone to a fair amount of self-reflection after having earned a degree in Philosophy and written plenty of really bad poetry over the years, as well as plenty of significantly better fiction later on. I turn inward often as I find it important to find out the root cause of my life's issues.

Am I the problem? Are my decisions the things keeping me from the things I want? Is the trajectory of my life something that I have any control over? Are there outside forces that I am simply unable to fight against, no matter my capability?

There is certainly something appealing about shining a light on all the mistakes I made growing into adulthood, but how many of those mistakes, if turned aright, would change my trajectory in such a way that I missed meeting all the fantastic people in my life? What if I didn't become the writer I am today? What if I was happier in that other trajectory?

Would I still go back and fix those mistakes in order to make my life glossier? Would I go back to fix the things that would ensure I made more money in the present? I don't think I would.

There are certainly moments in my life where I reacted poorly and that I'd like to change, and assuming those changes had little effect on my current life's path, I would make the changes. Beyond that, I feel like each decision made, each choice chosen has been perfect for me. Not perfect, but simply perfect for me.

If you had the chance to go back to the important moments where your choices fundamentally changed your life's trajectory (whether that be having kids/not having kids, dating one person/not dating a person, taking a job/not taking a job, etc.), would you go back and change those choices into something more desirable? Why or why not?

Now.JPG
(The Author Now)

Sort:  

I won't go back, I don't have any regrets in the past. All the choices I made shaped the way I am today. Your posts reminded me of that film Mr Nobody, if you haven't seen it yet, check it out.

No, never go back. The road your life takes is one of decisions some turn out good some not so good, however going back would only lead to more mistakes and more going back IMO.
Stand by your decisions and look forward.

i'm right there with ya. i personally wouldn't (though i've certainly thought about the ramifications of doing so on plenty of occasions), but i also don't have much beef with how my life has turned out (though there are aspects that could be decidedly better in many ways).

As the person I am now, yes I would have made different choices. But I wasn't the person I am now back then so - nope nothing would have changed I guess. Everybody has got to learn their lessons. No use crying over spilled milk.

Congratulations @bucho! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@bucho. Thanks for this post. My answer will be both YES and NO.Why?
Yes! Because there are moment that i remember in the past that i will love to experience again like the time i gain admission into University and everyone that has actually look down on me where amazed. The whole scenario looked like '' a rejected stone becoming a chief corner stone''. Such moment really made my critics and haters knew that i am bound to be somebody in life. I know you can understand the feeling i was having then. I will love to experience such again. But you know what? Life just has to continue because the clock will not stop ticking.

And NO! Because of the pain i went through growing up , when i have to work like a slave just to earn a living in order to achieve my goal in life. For some of us growing up wasn't as interesting as you can think but few people in our lives then helped to make it worth living while some made it to look like HELL.
But all the same i am grateful for the past and thankful for the present and i have great expectation about the future and what it holds for me. This is my own personal submission on your post and question. Thanks for the opportunity to share this.
Following you already and upvote you as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62