Would you give a tree to the forest or would you exchange the forest for a tree?

in #philosophy7 years ago

What are the things of true value in our lives?

I am marinating my thoughts today in the things that people consider valuable over the years it has shocked me to find that so many people treat people like objects and at the same time treat their material things with love.
I have quite a few thoughts on this matter and mostly they remain debatable.

At first, I saw people who value objects more than people as completely wrong, and in a way, I still do. One day I asked myself: “Why would people choose to be this way” and after thinking about it quite some time I concluded a possible cause.

Could it be that people start valuing people less as a manner of self-preservation?

What I mean by this is that people often get hurt by other people, humans are for the greater part unpredictable, at the same time it is to a certain extent in human nature to build certain expectations of other people and once those expectations are no longer met, then we get hurt. For example, if you are in a marriage, you expect your spouse to be faithful, in a friendship you expect your friend to be loyal, and as a child you expect your parents to protect you. Believing that they will live up to your expectations can be called trust.

So, when a person gets hurt over time they will subconsciously move away from the things that placed them in a position of experiencing that pain.

Material possessions on the other hand can be controlled to a certain extent.

The sad news in this scenario is that one deed feeds another.

Another thought on this is that people remain creatures of habit, over the years we have needed to accumulate money in order to live, and we have traded very valuable time away from loved ones and people that we want to be with in order to do so, in a way that can be seen as being estranged from a great deal of human interaction for most. Do we carry on accumulating objects and money as a familiar habit or to fill a void? Is greed actually fuelled by a deeper longing?

Sort:  

I whole heartedly believe that as individuals we devalue other people for the purposes of self preservation, but also think that as we age, we fail to have gratitude for things that come easily to usm good friends are easy to find but hard to keep.... i think because we take people, and kindness for granted. Great post. A reminder to velue to input that others have in our lives x

I agree with you.
Thank you so much for your valued support, I really do appreciate it!!

Hi my best friend @breezin
Nice share about phylosophy, a blog full of life value like love and others.
No doubt if you are my greatest writer.
I am really motivated with your post.
Thanks for his valuable knowledge of my best friend.
Do not worry I will always wait for the latest posts from you.
Sorry if my Comments offend you. I just want to find Family in this steemit. Thank you for giving me insight into life, love and philosophy.

Thank you so much, I am honoured by your kind gesture

You are welcome.
You have contact number.
Like whatsapp or imo?

goodness I love the deep thought process on this one! Thank you so much. We definitely do expect a lot just because of the way something is labeled and really that may not be their job at all. I think we definitely are creatures of habit and what feels familiar we tend to go that way. Sometimes we need to move out of that to grow!

I fully agree with you, one does not complete a journey by standing in one place

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45