You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Coffee and Philosophy: Humor is Medicine!

My thoughts are that irony, sarcasm and dry humor are all victims of people living in a black and white logical, humorless world, -low IQ's are a problem too. Sarcasm is too often used to wound, but placed precisely it can be funny. just my thoughts...

Sort:  

I agree with much of that, but it doesn't really change the fact that dry humor or sarcasm over text doesn't really translate if you don't know the individual and they are unaware you are joking.
For example I could point out that you really must be blonde because you can't even spell the word. Would you take that as a sarcastic joke or me just being an asshole? I don't take myself that seriously and never really have, but it doesn't mean that other people don't.

I would respect your intellect for picking up on the very embedded subtlety of my tongue in cheek selection (as you know technically --with an e is the feminine and without is the male descriptor) So am I a male or female with pretty pictures and a sense of humor . And you are correct sarcasm does not translate too well in print.

:) On a side note I never notice males referring to themselves as blond, maybe I just haven't had many blond male friends. The females are always pointing out which of them are blonde though ironically.

Phil, there's still the chance I'm female making fun with the double subtlety of the dumb blond(e) that can't spell, but as the English language has so devolved I barely notice the your/you're faux pas that now prevails and r has officially replaced the actual word so doesn't much matter......

What plays into what you said is people getting overly butthurt about opinions and taking themselves to serious. I feel like sometimes people think that I am sarcastic but will take it seriously, because if I was serious and they would take it as sarcasm, it would lead to a more awkward situation than vice versa. I hate that. Even if Im serious, if you think my opinions are funny, just laugh about them. As long as a serious debate is not interrupted by constant memes, I see no problem with laughing about another once in a while.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60830.20
ETH 2393.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63