The Mind - Alan Watts 💛

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Worrying is a vicious cycle. Always break free and let the antipathy disperse.


38943498-happy-mood-wallpapers.jpg


Yesterday I got too carried away writing a post about if our existence here on Earth is purely luck or fate. This weeks issue of Watts Wednesday is a day late which I'm sorry to say. If you didn't know or you are new to my content, I've started making posts every Wednesday regarding speeches and quotes of different philosophers to commemorate their great work as well as give my view on the message that they are trying to convey.

If you like this let me know since it is always a pleasure for me to do some research, assimilate and reflect on a piece of work and give you my view on the work of these great philosophers and carry on their legacy.

Today I'll be looking at another Alan Watts speech. Despite all the hardships and inner turmoil I have had Watts reroutes me to the path of happiness and endearment

Vicious Circles Of The Mind

My Thoughts

Take a pause and ask yourself this question... Will this worrying do anything to affect the outcome? If the answer is no, say screw it and move along. It's hard at first, but with time you can do it. We tend to cling to these emotions rather than letting the go.

I also have issues with overthinking sometimes. It affects my sleep from time to time. I learned sometimes it is best just to quiet the mind and exist for a little time. It can be amazing actually. Just stop what you are doing and just be. Even if just for a few minutes. The way I do it is with focus. You will be a changed person if you have a session of silence and you let all this tense pressure evaporate and disperse.

I scour the room or my mind, and I just put my focus on it without thinking about it. Sometimes it's a defect on a wall; sometimes it's an error on the ceiling, at times it's a little trinket, whatever it is, I just put my focus on it for a time without thinking. Distancing myself from the problems and breaking free from my mind forged manacles.

I get to a point where my mind is relaxed, I look around and just take in everything or I just close my eyes and "just be". It can take some time to get used to it but don't be discouraged if your mind wants to chatter on and on. I've been doing this sort of meditation since I was a little kid. I feel jubilant, calm and content as all this negative energy disappears.

In the end, you just need to tell yourself it is fine to be addicted to thoughts. It is natural to be addicted to thoughts. Don't put that burden on yourself wishing you need to be someone you aren't yet. By noticing this and with the intent of taking little steps towards being less addicted to thoughts is the direction to freedom. Mount Everest is conquered by small steps, not a giant leap. Stay resilient and tranquil rather than plunging yourself into animosity.

Thank You for Reading!

Sort:  

Thoughts are the main reason behind our ignorance, we forget to cherish the present moment due to these thoughts and always worry about past or future.

Incredible work.

another Alan Watts =) love his speeches. they always make all my problems and challenges look so small and ridicolous ;)

This is a wonderful post! A wonderful sentence! You are clever, my dear! 😘😙🤗

Thank you so much @creadordelfuturo <3

Excellent-- big fan of Alan Watts!

I don't remember who said it, but the point is that we are Human BE-ings, not Human DO-ings or Human HAVE-ings. And when we give ourselves permission to "just be" everything-- including "worry"-- pretty much melts away.

When I was a kid, my elderly aunt inadvertently taught me to meditate... through something she simply called "sitting and seeing." We'd just sit on the porch and observe life, without the need to do, act, or comment on anything. Worry... that's a highly overrated emotion.

I'm glad that you like Alan Watts @denmarkguy
I guess we should see it that way.
Worrying is overrated and we shouldn't ever push ourselves to feel it and cling onto it.
Thank you for your comment! :)

Thanks for posting this! In those fleeting moments of no thought when meditating are amazing.

It truly is amazing to just sit there, letting time pass as you relax and dwell in serenity

thanks for this post ,trully motivational, i just upvoted and followed you, and i hope to see more posts from you

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by numpty from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68596.26
ETH 2701.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72