You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychological Egoism: Selfishly Improving the World Around You

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Hey Luke

Yep, news to me too this and so I'm really glad you shared. Love the way they have produced this video in a straightforward manner.

I've been called selfish in the past, now I can hold my head up high and say 'yes, yes I am'!

...The more value we add to the STEEM blockchain and curate great content from others, the more our personal STEEM holdings go up in value. I almost never self-vote now, as an example, because I personally benefit so much more by voting for others.

Absolutely. I've been on at this for a few months now, as well as paying for SP to delegate on for free to encourage others. I run an 'engagement league' and the most promising folks get $ and free delegation, and I'm also offering out 'data' gifts and as much encouragement as I can muster.

And now, I can back it up with my selfish argument of Psychological Egoism :)

Cheers!

EDIT: Reading @teamsteem's latest post and listening to Dan Larimers video (on the 2 year old post linked in the recent @teamsteem post), I feel the @dan was on the case with this years ago with regards to his views on crypto and blockchain. Very cool!

Sort:  

When we talk about this stuff (or Objectivism, for example), I think it's important to recognize that selfishness is still a very real thing. Those who look out for themselves at the expense of others or the community really are selfish in a way that (IMO) doesn't factor in long-term, rational self-interest. I think they could have done even more for themselves if they were less selfish, if that makes sense.

Good luck with the engagement league. Sounds interesting.

And yes, Dan has been ahead of the curve for a lot of things such as UBI.

I think what perhaps makes your response a bit "muddy" is that regardless of the motivation, selfish is always meaning acting in self-interest. There is the type of selfish action that, as you mentioned, is done with the acknowledgement that it is not in our best interest to harm or alienate others, and there are actions that fail to regard the actor as one of those people that is being hurt when it is an immoral act.

Thanks for the material, I am still fairly green in formally discussing philosophy and hadn't come across psychological egoism, looking forward to learning more about the topic and seeing the impact of this community on society!

I see selfish as:

(of a person, action, or motive) lacking consideration for others; concerned chiefly with one's own personal profit or pleasure.

It specifically lacks the consideration for others. That's where the line is drawn between self-interest and selfishness. I wouldn't consider a beneficial form of self-interest as "selfish" based on the meaning of the word.

Yes I agree there, and honestly it's not that hard to see who's being selfish for greater good, or not, here on the Steem Blockchain.

The league is a top 10 post each week according to arcanges data and I think we have a great thing going on there, thank you :)

The link in your reply took me down a few paths today and I ended up at a great piece by @krnel on UBI.

There really are some excellent blogs 'hidden' away, thanks for joining some dots for me.

I think I read that one. I also wrote a post about UBI and how it could powered by STEEM.

Yes you did, you are the top comment on the post.

What if we could all live at the top of Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs

Now that is a goal worth striving for - I believe it's possible, although I suspect not in my lifetime.

Again, there is so much good content down in the depths, it has me thinking of the best way to serve it up as so much of it is still, and perhaps even more relevant as we move forward.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66