Fortune Island, Philippines: Overnight Camping at an Abandoned Luxury Resort

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

Behind the ruins of this island resort is a glamorous past. Fortune island resort was an exclusive resort for the rich during the 90’s. It was too exclusive I could not even find photos of its original Grecian structures on the internet. What we can only find now are the same ruins we saw during our overnight trip there.

Until now, there are various stories as to why this extravagant resort closed down. There was a typhoon that completely ruined it. But prior the typhoon, there has been rumors and controversies about the legal ownership of this resort which involved big names and politicians in the Philippines.

Aside from the big chunk of land, it is no surprise that influential people will fight over this property. Surrounding the island is a marine reserve, a Spanish shipwreck from the 1600’s when the Dutch fought against the Spanish, and probably other hidden treasures.

Upon arrival on the island, you cannot avoid but notice the ruins of the Greek pillars on top of the hill.


The dilapidated structures are scattered throughout the 27-hectare land. Here you can see an area that could have been a kitchen for one of their villas. This is where we took a bath. The island has no fresh water source and we had to use a little amount of the fresh water that we brought.



There is also a swimming pool now filled with muddy water. Of course, we didn’t swim in here. 😄



And here’s a helipad now just covered in grass. Having that on an island here is a sign that only the extremely rich people in the Philippines can land on this resort.



We found an unexpected remains. They look like bones and there's a skull. We found out that these bones belong to a woman! Our tour guide said that the woman remains unknown until today and they never discovered the cause of her death. There were stories that her ghost roam this island. Creepy!


To forget about this ghost story, knowing that we will stay here overnight, we continued exploring the island. It was a long walk to the Greek-inspired ruins. It helped that there were stairs going to the top of the hill where the pillars and Greek statues stand.




This is the most common picture of Fortune island you will see in advertisements.



There is also a good cliff diving spot from here where I tried my first ever cliff jump!

Our tents were set up on the other side of the hill near the old kitchen. It was too hot I slept outside the tent for a time.


And I woke up and saw this snake trail! I must be a cat and have already lost one of my 9 lives! 😹


We didn’t swim in the morning as the waves were too rough. And most of the time, the waves are really strong. The sand isn’t fine and it is filled with crushed corals which might injure you if the waves are too strong.

But it would be nice to come back here for freediving. The shores aren’t so good for swimming but a lot of freedivers say that getting a boat a few meters away from the island would be good spot for the underwater. And a chance to see those shipwrecks!

Travel tip:

The island can be easily reached from Manila by land and by boat. The land trip will take you about 4 hours to reach Batangas and you will have to ride a boat for about an hour.

We went there conveniently through a travel group we found in Facebook. This is cheaper than doing a DIY (Do-It-Yourself) trip because you share the cost of the boat fare with other travelers. Otherwise, you would need to charter a boat which will take a bulk of your travel budget.

Our total overnight budget (inclusive of food, transportation and fees) was PHP 2000 (approximately USD 40) per person.

Photos taken using Sony Xperia Z1
This blog is also my entry to the Abandoned Shit Contest by @customnature
Sort:  

The Parthenon style columns are amazing! I'd love to go there and hang my hammock in a former five star location! That seems like a perfect place...I really missed out.
I will definitely recommend your blog to Philippines bound travelers.

I will @jocrazy but you should really start blogging now and tell us how to travel for free! :D

I hope I could visit this place someday.. ^^

Hi @lmfao3124 I checked that you are from Zamboanga. I bet you have nicer islands over there. I would love to visit Zamboanga someday :)

Yeah, its more fun here in Mindanao.. ^^

seems like a good place to camp; aside from the snake of course :D

Haha yes if you are adventurous then the snake's presence would be a plus :D

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wanderlass
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=fortune-island-philippines-overnight-camping-at-an-abandoned-luxury-resort


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

hey that was a big snake, anyway it a beautiful place.

Yeah I was lucky it didn't see me when I was sleeping outside the tent that night. Yikes!

scared lol

very good post and even though you aren't a newbie, I still want to help you

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Haha thanks @ilovepoorpeople I still think I'm a newbie because there is still a lot to learn and been just in here for over a month. I appreciate your help! :)

its good. you look like a pro haha

Haha thanks :)

Nice entry I love the shots of the Greek style pillars looming over the cliff great work!

Thank you very much @vibeof100monkeys. That's also my favorite spot on the island. :)

I will have to visit one day! 💯🐒

Wah lapit lang pala sa amin. 1 hour boat ride! I can't believe you tried cliff diving x.x and that snake trail made me shudder. The tour made me curious about the place. I didn't even know it existed. Thanks for the free tour hehe. In fairness sis, mura nga kung 2k lang.

Less than 2k lang magagastos mo since asa Batangas ka na :) Kc ngvan pa kami from Manila. Hindi lang ok ung quality ng tent na prinovide nila pero overall ok sya at sulit :)

Looks like it is an abandoned place. But with proper plan, it might be a beautiful resort.

Thanks for sharing this with us.

Thanks for checking out my blog, Dr. Hafiz. I agree, this abandoned resort has great potential :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32