Second Day of Puto Festival 2019

in #philippines4 years ago

Last Saturday, we went to see the second day of Puto Festival. Puto is a steamed rice cake (approximately an inch in diameter) and a delicacy of Calasiao, a municipality in the province of Pangasinan.

sy6hxgkpfs.jpg

Puto in Calasiao comes in different flavors: Mango, Pandan, Ube, Strawberry, and the plain original flavor. Puto is very delicious but honestly, you could barely taste the flavored ones so I rather have the classic flavor especially the ones with cheese. Always have cheese in your puto! A golden rule one must always remember.

We headed first to a budget store to see some blouses for my mom and went to the plaza after to see what activities they have. Lol. Actually, I know some artists like housemates from Pinoy Big Brother are coming so we went there. I'm not actually a super fan, though I enjoy making some fan arts for some of them. (A separate post will be made for the fan art.)

lfacx3df8c.jpg

So we headed to the plaza but the program still hasn't started and there were still few people waiting, probably because of the heat of the sun. To kill the time, we looked for the puto stalls..to buy puto, of course.

24em79w0a3.jpg

The stalls were transfered near the municipal hall, in front of the old church. They were formerly along the highway but were transfered due to road widening project. The temporary location was more safe for the buyers and sellers but also resulted to a disadvantage for the sellers. They said, those whose stalls were located at the innermost parts could hardly sell their goods. I hope the officials in charge could do something on this issue.

x2aq0a1684.jpg
bw2zwgzvhb.jpg
b3w7iwjq2x.jpg

However, I find the temporary stalls cute. The walls were painted with murals showing the beauty of the town and its delicacy puto.

We then sat on a bench at the park decorated with Christmas ornaments. The trees and decors were useful to cover the area from sunlight. Here were some photos I took.

u679t7trdu.jpg
50z7us7wpd.jpg
jljan8ubzu.jpg

God really does send messages in unexpected ways...

89i0b6hf1q.jpg

You know, I've been feeling down for months, and what are the chances of seeing a Christmas ball with a touching message? This was what's in front of where I was exactly seated. And it captured my attention while I was taking photos of the Christmas tree.

Fast forward to the program, because we waited 3 freakin' hours and the program hosts took an hour and a half for the games (a typical pre-program for events like fiestas to attract audiences), the artists finally came out one by one. Truth be told, I just wanted to go home because I felt tired and sleepy waiting and the people going on every direction makes me dizzy. Add the noise from the crowd and the speakers which makes me feel irritated. Also add the insensitive taller people blocking your view. Ugh. Just makes me want to shout, "Excuse me?!!!" Oh the problems short people have to forever endure!

The first artists to come out were the Bida Man from the noon program, It's Showtime. I don't know any of them. 😂 Next were the cast of the afternoon drama, Ang Pamilya Ko. Not a fan but it was nice to see Maris Racal, Kira Balinger, and Mutya Orquia. The three girls were all gorgeous and talented. I kind of hate that they put the PBB housemates last on the sequence. They probably know that most people in the crowd went to see the housemates and they could leave and not finish the show if they put these artists on the first line up. Indeed, save the favorites for last.

We left after the PBB housemates' first dance together to avoid the crowd when leaving. I could hardly see them anyway and getting a glance of them for awhile is already enough for me.

In front of the sports complex, near the plaza, a car show was also being held. We hear the sounds of engines roaring despite the noise in the plaza.

That's all. I haven't taken photos during the program. All I would capture are heads anyway. 😂

Oh, here's the Christmas park at night. There's also a giant Christmas tree on the other side.

ujj9fx49xi.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Charap naman... Charap din ng upvote. 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha oo nga gulat ako jan 😂 pa-christmas ata saken 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91