Having Less, Doing More

in #philippines7 years ago (edited)

Remember my post that was dedicated to the kids of an orphanage? It did not get much upvotes but still thanks to Steemit because my previous posts were able to make this event possible!

Last Friday, I held an event to Pinagpala Children's Home, Inc. consisting of game, feeding and gift giving sessions.

IMG_2886.JPG

I could say that it's a major leap for me because I have a great fear of speaking in front of a large crowd, especially kids. I can deal with, say 3 to 5 kids... but 50 kids? That I cannot handle. I didn't think about that fear during the event. I had to face it because it meant making other people happy.

Games

Of course, this portion should not be missed when handling kids. They love games!!! There were moments that knew the game better than I do! Here are the list of games that we played. I will include description for others to become familiar with Filipino games.

  1. Stop dance --> kids should dance while the music is playing. If it stops, they should also stop dancing. Those who are caught moving while the music is off will no longer be part of the game.

  2. Bahay, Baboy, Bagyo --> bahay means house, baboy is pig and bagyo is storm. Roles will be initially assigned to the kids. Two kids will form a bahay, and inside it is a baboy. The organizer will be shouting Bahay, Baboy, Bagyo, Bahay, Baboy, Bagyo , Bahay, Baboy, Bagyo repeatedly. If the organizer stops at "Bahay", kids with this role will be roaming around to find a new "Baboy". If the organizer stops ar "Baboy", kids with this role will be roaming around to find a new "Bahay". Lastly, if the organizer stops at "Bagyo", everyone will be roaming around to form a new Bahay-Baboy setup.

This is how Bahay-Baboy-Bagyo game looks like. And look, their smiles!

IMG_2883.JPG

IMG_2884.JPG

Food

When I first reached out lola Nita (the person behind the orphanage), I was told that they have 50 kids but they can adjust the participants to 25 or 35 depending on my budget. I chose 50 kids because I thought of the 25 or 15 kids that would not be enjoying while others are. Fortunately, I was able to prepare enough food that were very very sufficient to all of them including the staffs! Food included: spaghetti and chicken plus the juice! They could not be happier! I admire the kids because they were very disciplined when it comes to food. They were patient waiting for the food.

Gift giving

This is my favorite part because I personally prepared this one. I gave them loot bags that contain:

  1. Notebook
  2. Pencil
  3. Eraser
  4. Sweets

IMG_2881.JPG

They were all very thankful as they received the bags, especially lola Nita, because kids were very happy. At the same time, she felt bad because it was raining so hard and their event place is in a bad condition. Roof has holes that there were drops of rain inside the gazebo making the floor wet and muddy.

IMG_2888.JPG

IMG_2819.JPG

We did not mind getting wet and dirty because we were enjoying the moment.

IMG_2878.JPG

I am not posting this to let other people know that I am kind and helpful. I am posting this to let all the people know that having a little resources, I could still do more of what I thought I couldn't. Just because you have less doesn't mean you couldn't do more. Do more!

All photos are owned by the author unless otherwise indicated.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mysupermando! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41