I revamped my small college apartment, UPLB | Free water and electricity | Reminiscing teenage years

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

Thesis and Resources


collage1.jpg

One fine day, a young lady realized how limited her finances are. She have had problems making her way out of college and reaching her dreams. She badly needed to put up 70% of her allowance to her nerve-wrecking, life changing, melodramatic thesis. She spends her 10 hours vacant time in sleeping,eating, bathing and travelling from point A to Z. Her remaining 22 hours are usually spent to her monster thesis, peculiar data gathering, boring to tiring classes, toxic laboratories and long library hours. Since her resources are limited, she decided to move out from her posh, cozy and lime apartment into an old, ruined yet accessible to the campus apartment. She halfheartedly convinced herself to rent the place since her last 3 semesters needed a huge allowance for her thesis. The place ambiance is similar to an old prison room. "But I won't spend much time in this apartment", she thought. Nail-hammered walls and disfigured bathroom door. She thought, "why not realign the cables and repaint the walls, thesis budget is urgently needed". Good thing the lodging fee is inclusive of utility charges, that will truly helped her managed her scarce resources wisely. And that unlucky lady is me. A frustrated interior designer who took a different path because why not.

The Prisoner's Cell


collage3.jpg

The eeeewwwwyy dungeon aka forsaken room

When I have visited the place, it really looks haunted. It is not, in any way, habitable. But when the owner told me its only 2000/month inclusive of electricity and water, having scarce resources, I made a decision to take it. No advance and deposit. A good deal! I decided to ask the owner if I can do some rewiring and realignment. Fortunately its fine and they will reimburse me so I do not need to pay for my 1st month's rent. Amazing. Make over budget, one month rental, solved!

The Dungeon's Makeover


collage2.jpg

I decided pink and cherry blossoms to match my personality and to be a bit homey. My previous apartment has the same wallpaper but its 5k/month, mahal kaayu

I bought a 5 liters of white paint, 2 liters of floor paint, wires, switch and nails. I asked the resident carpenter to do the wires and unattached the wooden desk on the kitchen and repair the ceiling. During my vacant hours, I do the repainting. I covered the butter-burnt walls with white paint. The white color will make the room look bigger and clean. I noticed the rough wall surface from concrete nails marked by previous renters. I decided to let these holes stay and just repaint them so they will get unnoticed and just blend them in. My friend, Grant, also helped me repainting since I stayed in her apartment before I got to move to the new one.

A Mini Princess Den


collage4.jpg

Say Hi! to Terra Bonna (Latin for good land)

Despite the 3 subject and 3 hours of lab on Tuesday to Friday, I was happy I was able to finished this in 3 days. I worked on Saturday evening, Sunday morning and Monday morning. The rest of Monday was transferring my things to Terra Bonna.

The Transition from a dungeon to a princess den


collage8.jpg

Happy renter, happy owner!

I even have friends coming over when they knew about mini-revamp project. We celebrated a friend's birthday in here and I have had reunited with my college batch mates. 4 semesters of not seeing each other, struggling on our own courses. Because the campus is so big, we are juggling social life and academic life and that's a different story.


collage9.jpg

This den became Feuer's first home, too. I enjoyed staying here for about 2 semesters before moving out to Cebu.

My first revamp project is indeed a success without my friend's help and without the people who helped me by passing my papers for me so I can run and finish this apartment. Worth all the effort.


Thanks for Reading! Ciao!

Love,

Ella


Recent Blogs

I tried making my own KIMCHI | Millennial Tita Goals | Healthy probiotics
Lotus Flower | Art as a medium of expression || Watercolor pencils













Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90