My Clan's Hero

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

What is a Barangay?

A barangay or brgy was referred as bario, it is the smallest administrative division in the Philippines and is a native term for a village or district. Accorsing to history, the word barangay came from the word balangay, a kind of boat that was used by a group of Austrian peoples that migrated in the Philippines. Balangay is a Mayan word for sailboat.
Traditionally barangays were coastal or riverine in nature, this is why because most of the people rely on fishing as the supply of their daily foods.

Municipalities and cities in the Philippines are subdivided into barangays, however the municipalities of Adams in Ilocos Norte and Kalayaan, Palawan was in exception because each contain only one barangay. The barangay itself is sometimes informally subdivided into smaller areas called purok or zones, barangay zones was consist of cluster of houses, and sitios, which are territorial enclaves.
As of June 2015, there were 42,029 barangays throughout the Philippines.


Located in the Philippines is a city named Trece Martires under the province of Cavite. The "Trece Martires" was named after the thirteen martyrs of Cavite: Luis Aguado, Eugenio Cabezas, Feliciano Cabuco, Agapito Conchu, Alfonso de Ocampo, Maximo Gregorio, Maximo Inocencio, Jose Lallana, Severino Lapidario, Victoriano Luciano III, Francisco Osorio, Hugo Perez and Antonio San Agustin

The thirteen martyrs was caught by the Spaniards because of the alleged conspiracy between the Katipuneros . The trial of the 13 martyrs by the Council of War (Consejo de Guerra) took only four hours. Shortly after noon of September 12, 1896, after being pronounced guilty of rebellion, they were marched from Fort San Felipe to the Plaza de Armas; blindfolded, forced to kneel and shot from behind. At 12: 45 in the afternoon, Dr Francisco Masip, the examining physician declared every one dead.

The lifeless bodies of the thirteen martyrs were piled in three carabao-drawn carts, guarded by six Spanish soldiers armed with rifles and bayonets. Their remains were brought to the Catholic Convent Cemetery in Caridad. Maximo Inocencio, Francisco Osorio, Luis Aguado, Hugo Perez and Victoriano Luciano were appropriately placed in separate coffins and buried albeit in a common grave, but the others, Maximo Gregorio, Feliciano Cabuco, Antonio de San Agustin, Agapito Conchu, Eugenio Cabezas, Jose Lallana, Severino Lapidario and Alfonso de Ocampo were buried without caskets.
In recognition to this thirteen martyrs, 13 barangays was named after them, one of these is the Barangay Aguado


Barangay Aguado

Barangay Aguado is one of the thirteen barangays of Trece Martires City. It has been named in honor of Luis Aguado, one of the martyrs sentenced to death by the Council of War during the Spanish Regime on September 11, 1896 and was executed on the following day. Luis Aguado (which I claim to be my ancestor) was the son of a captain in the Spanish navy and became the supply chief of the Spanish arsenal in Fort San Felipe. He married Felisa Osorio, the oldest daughter of Antonio Osorio, a Chinese-Filipino businessman reputed to be the richest in Cavite at that time. Aguado was given its name upon the approval of Republic Act 981 on May 24, 1954.

Barangay Aguado is formerly known as “Fiscal Mundo”. The barangay is the 5th largest barangay in Trece Martires City which is subdivided into 11 puroks with a total area of 298 hectares.


Having the name of Zairos M. Aguado, I was astonished knowing that my clan have a great person. I didn't get the chance to ask my grandfather about Luis Aguado because he died when I was only three years old. After I found out about the great man behind my clan, I make my research if we were somehow connected to him. I was making my research if Luis Aguado's descendants make their way to the Mindoro province LOL 😄😄
It may be funny on me finding a certain connection between us but I think that was what I am. Hahahaha
But I still can't find a connection between us, but I still hope that maybe someday I'll find one Hahahaha. I was still claiming that I maybe one of his descendants but I think it will be more credible if I find even slight of the chance.


1.gif


26906086_10208718864569314_1705464943_o (1).png

I am part of the @steemitfamilyph Join us
Be a member on our Facebook page -- Click this Link

"Not everyone is a blogger but everyone has something to offer"

@surpassinggoogle

Please also support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64