You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear Diary: I can't get a severe pain medication

in #philippines7 years ago

I meant extrenely extrenely gentle gentle exercises. I think you misunderstand. I work with people that have congestive heart faliure. I worked with a woman with severe disabling chorea. I've worked with many people who have severe degeneration of the spine. You do not have to move. Example: Squeeze You buttocks muscle. You didn't have to get up and move to do that. The same can be done with squeezing your quadricep muscle big muscle on front of your leg. You can simply squeeze it, thereby contracting the muscle. That's what isometric is and why i said you should google it. You yourself said you had not looked into any alternative medicine. Which led me to assume (incorrectly i think) that you may be interested in hearing about it. I promote improved quality of life. If the message isn't being well received, I will bow out. Best wishes.

Sort:  

What about TENS pain reliever?, it can be used to contract muscles.
I will just stick the pad unto my leg and maybe back area to make them work via electric stimulation, will that work too?

Great question.
For PAIN: Combined with heat (preferably) set at a low frequency (i.e. feels pleasant/ comfortble) x 15 minutes
Place one pad to each side of the "meaty" portions of the low back. Google low back placement of tens pads.
do not ever put it directly over your spine
also tens is contraindicated period if you have ACTIVE CANCER or a PACEMAKER

Now for your other question about doing it for muscular contraction - that has to be done at a higher frequency. The two pads HAVE to be in proximity to each other for it to work (same us true for pain)- i.e. you can't put one on your bicep the other on your leg - you'd get nothing out of it because the poles are too far apart.

As i said the frequency has to be set pretty high. You may feel you muscles jerk like you are clenching them actively. Usually that setting cycles rhythimkcally on for 30 seconds off for 15 or something otherwise you'd sit there with your muscle in a constant state of contraction you'd be very sore later.

In stroke patients say that have lost use their tricep (so their elbow is bent up constantly), there is a really strong setting that will actually make ybe tricep activate fully. I did it I school it was really strange feeling to have my bent elbow just straighten completely.

You can try the gentler setting i first described. The second one i would not really recommend to do, it's too much.

Theoretically, this could help with the firing of the muscles then make all the other exercises i told you about easier.

Ah Thank you for all your help @chelsea88
I can procure myself with TENS and just hope it would help me greatly with these misery that I am having.
God Bless you.

God Bless You my friend. All the best, I hope you will obtain some relief. ♡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56739.93
ETH 2400.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30