Dear Diary: I can't get a severe pain medication

in #philippines7 years ago

LonelyWait.jpg

Me A few Days Ago at the Hospital

Having a long-standing pain is debilitating to say the least, it robs me already of my physical world's social part and most importantly the basic functions of my everyday life lie even going up and to the bathroom, it isn't that easy that I feel that I might die in the bathroom like Elvis Prestly but me being uglier and ghastly thinner and with less fans too, and impoverished, aaaaand (put bad fortunes in life here).

Me being at pain all the time sometimes do not complain about it. So it is long of a time ever since I complained about my joint and back pains because it is hopeless since I have no money to spare to purchase pain medicines that are so expensive. It is now that I am just lucky enough to get a disability membership card which are honored in many pharmacies that gives me 20% discount plus 12 %discount in my medicine purchases, but still, buying medicines was a no-no for me because of financial constraints.

Now yesterday I thought that I might need some just to alleviate my misery so I told the nurses what I feel and that I need some medicines for it. The system i the dialysis center here since the doctor is always not around is that the nurses texts or calls the doctor if the patient's needs something. So the nurse interviewed me and took note of what I felt and then relayed it to my doctor. What happened was the doctor just wants me to be admitted to the hospital so I can be reevaluated.

Sounds OK but it really is not. Being admitted to the hospital will make me spend a great deal of cash and time for such a complaint of pain in my body. So I didn't want to get admitted and went home not getting a prescription that I needed.

Sort:  

Pre I sent you a message in discord. I will leave my mobile there too. I think this is in Sacred Heart Hospital in Malolos? I live very near there and can get to you in seconds. Stay strong!

The benefits of Hash oil, have you looked into that?

He lives in the Philippines, the cops kill drug users there...

Thank you for the suggestion @prime-cleric but I don't know how to acquire that online.

Sorry to hear that. Hopefully the pain subsides a bit as time passes from your visit to the hospital last week. I know when I had bone pain, it would feel really bad after a hard day of standing. Hang in there.

I just resort to taking NSAIDs @lizzyib as it also relieves me but I do not like it because it destroys red blood cells to if not cause some ulcers.

Aaah yeah NSAIDS are tricky, I usually go for acetaminophen. Hopefully whatever you have available can help with minimal side effects.

Healthcare in general is really gone downhill. And the price gouging on the meds is UNREASONABLE. One of the meds I need to take went from 15 dollars for a monthly supply to 73!!!!!!!!! With no rhyme or reason. I have great empathy for your pain, disability, and daily struggle. I work as a physical therapist, have you ever had the opportunity to try any of that for pain/postural work / muscle synergies?

Medicines are so expensive considering that they can mass produce it. It is just a business that they concentrate on profits and drug company's growth rather than the patient's welfare.
I haven't looked at alternative medicine or any workup for my spinal bone whatsoever. There are actually some deterioration in my bone that is needed to be supported by a metal just to alleviate the pain.

My thought was perhaps the supportive musculature (core muscles of the glutes, abs) could be built up to be a bit stronger to help support you structurally. In theory it would help. I would Google such simple exercises like glut sets, long arc quads, ankle pumps, abdominal bracing exercises in sitting.

Are you able to lie flat: if so try hip abd and add (Google it), bridging, simple knee bends. Straight leg raises if able, pelvic tilt if not too painful.

Due to your condition(s) i would do very low reps only (Like 5-10) work up to 10x3. Work on the quality of the muscle contractions too and don't let your limbs/legs just "fall" back down.

Your stronger than you might think. I saw a picture of you walking behind your father i think you said it was. Build up some of those supportive muscle groups to keep your structure (skeleton) supported.

Where's your pain ? Have You ever attempted using moist heat (hot towel) or compress on the area?? Theory is enduces blood flow to the area to aide in pain reduction.

So i got kind of "nerdy" on you. Try some, consistency pays off, could improve your overall quality of life.
♡♡♡♡
Best wishes

I value your recommendations @chelsea88
Thank you very much but my back is so vulnerable that any weight against it will deteriorate it. Every joint in my body is aching. If I also make an exertion, that part of my body that exerted gets injured so it just leaves me so careful not to move around lest I might injure myself and cause further pain.

Okay. I would consider isometric exercises exercises then. Google it - quad sets, glut sets. Involves no movement of the joints just a muscular contraction. Just a suggestion. I get it. I have worked with extremely ill people of all ages. And went to school and have the student debt to prove it. Lack of use results in further immobility. You get the rod in your back, that will involve some exercises and rehabilitation. If you remain so immobile you risk pulmonary embolism & dvt. I doubt you'd want that.

OK but with pain in my back hinders me from even moving. Moving makes me feel the pain.
I get also breathless as I have extra fluid in my body, exercise just makes my heart pump harder with my existing hypertension. It is all complicated.

I meant extrenely extrenely gentle gentle exercises. I think you misunderstand. I work with people that have congestive heart faliure. I worked with a woman with severe disabling chorea. I've worked with many people who have severe degeneration of the spine. You do not have to move. Example: Squeeze You buttocks muscle. You didn't have to get up and move to do that. The same can be done with squeezing your quadricep muscle big muscle on front of your leg. You can simply squeeze it, thereby contracting the muscle. That's what isometric is and why i said you should google it. You yourself said you had not looked into any alternative medicine. Which led me to assume (incorrectly i think) that you may be interested in hearing about it. I promote improved quality of life. If the message isn't being well received, I will bow out. Best wishes.

What about TENS pain reliever?, it can be used to contract muscles.
I will just stick the pad unto my leg and maybe back area to make them work via electric stimulation, will that work too?

PS. if You can walk you can do the simple exercises i mentioned.

  • but my back is so vulnerable that any weight against it will deteriorate it. *
    If that was true, you'd be unable to walk.

I have emailed you. Message me if you like, when you feel up to it.

Hi @girlbeforemirror I have checked all my emails, I can't see your email. :/

Nothing @girlbeforemirror
I checked all the folders :/

I have started on discord. But I have no idea what I'm doing.
GirlBefore#7455
I am a noob! I can barley use a computer. Luckily I am usually horizontal and tapping on my phone. I can use a phone. Just not discord. But perhaps you will find me.

I'll look you up at discord @girlbeforemirror
We can contact each other there but we can also see each other here.

So sorry :(

I am keeping you in my mind and my heart. Sending you as much love as I can. ❤

God Bless you for your emotional support.You're so sweet. @szuri

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58012.92
ETH 3065.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24