You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: i ♥ Philippines - Courtship in the Past

in #philippines7 years ago

That is one interesting way traditional way to court a lady. But, it seems very material. I am all for being financially responsible and stable in order to support yourself and maybe a future lady in your life. But, does the love have to do anything with it?

What about the people who are in love, but can't really afford the “pasalubong” every time he visits? Or, he might not visit that often. lol It understands the reasoning behind it, but I bet there were some people sneaking and seeing each other without following the rules. If so what was the punishment for it do you know?

Thank you for sharing the traditons of your people with us. It was an interesting read. :)

Sort:  

Hello,

I'm not really sure about the punishment for not having one. I think it's not just the material things and I agree with that. As far as that is concerned, I'm not sure how that goes in the early days but there is injustice between the poor and rich back then so there was this kind of Romeo and Juliet happening. :)

Thanks for dropping by and appreciating my work. :)

I like the Romeo and Juliet part, but hopefully without anybody drinking the poison in the end. More like holding hands and watching the sunset happy ending I am having in mind. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58092.92
ETH 2616.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43