The Most Important Steemit Cash out Tip for Newbies + My 3rd cash out

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

So you've earned enough Steem Dollars (SBD) and want to cash out/withdraw right now, what should you do? You can read my process on how to cash out or check other people's post about it. Before withdrawing though, I have an important tip for you to read.

image.png
(Source)

I recently did my 3rd cash out of 40 SBD and boy did I make a mistake again. Seriously I am still such a noob with cryptocurrency and trading that I somehow lose money because of this. I don't want anyone to lose money so here I will share with you an important tip.

Always watch/monitor the cryptocurrency you will use to convert your Steem Dollars to before converting it.

For example, my cashout process as I stated in my first cash out post is like this:

Currency/cryptocurrency:
SBD ➡ Doge ➡ BTC ➡ PHP


Why do I do this process? To save on transfer/conversion fees. There are many ways to cash out and this is one of them.

Here's where I made a mistake in my 3rd cash out.

Doge ➡ BTC

I forgot to convert my Dogecoin to Bitcoin immediately upon converting SBD to Doge. It took me hours before I remembered to do it. The result? Well Dogecoin was crashing last night and when I realized that, it was too late. I panicked! I did not HODL. So I got a lower BTC than I should have gotten if I converted it immediately. Just now Doge is back up from several hours ago. Ugh.

Instead of getting around P10,000+ worth of BTC, it will only be around P9,000+ if I had transferred it to my PHP wallet in Coinsph. Sad

But as a consolation to myself, I transferred it as BTC to my wallet and so I guess I will still earn a bit more because BTC is going up up up. I did not do BTC ➡ PHP yet because of what happened.

Anyway, am reading on other ways to cash out too so we'll see what I will do on my next Steem withdrawal.

Have fun Steeming and learn from my mistake!

XOXO,
@artgirl


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg



All images are copyright of their respective owners except otherwise indicated as mine.

All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue



For my other articles still within the 7 day period since posting this, do check below:

5 Things I Learned on Steemit That Can Help Fellow Newbies

Spotlight on 2 Amazing Body Painters

10 Things A Non-Buffy the Vampire Slayer Fan Should Know (Spoiler alert!) - Part I

10 Things A Non-Buffy the Vampire Slayer Fan Should Know (Spoiler alert!) - Part II

For my art and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Thank you for the nice reminder. I want to ask, if you are using blocktrade, why do you need to transfer to doge? Why don't directly to btc?

You're welcome. The answer is written above. :)

To save on transfer/conversion fees.

ah. i missed this. :D

Yes that's right. Hehe. I think I will try a different way next time.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you.

Thank you for the heads-up, look forward to my first cashout. Not because of the money because of the experience of it, so that when someone askes me how to cashout I will be able to advise accordingly.

Alright! :)

DON'T PANIC!!! 😂

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📈 24h📉 7d
BTCBitcoin10236.700$1.73%1.56%
DOGEDogecoin0.007$5.01%-5.58%
SBDSteem Dollars4.269$1.39%-24.86%
STEEMSteem3.602$3.14%-20.16%

Oh wow, cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60104.15
ETH 3299.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37