A possible way to improve Steemit

in #phainesthai5 years ago (edited)
I've only been here for a few days, so take everything I say with a grain of salt, but maybe my fresh perspective can be useful.

As I understand it, in this system the rewards for a post accumulate over 7 days and then get paid out to the author. In my mind this is a big problem, because it makes posters focus on getting quick attention in order to generate revenue before the week ends.

I think that a large part of what motivates great authors (or artists, for that matter), is the desire to create great work. Work that will sell forever. Work that stands the test of time. But this platform didn't get this aspect of the creative process right so far. I'm not sure if this can be fixed. I'm not that knowledgeable about how the underlying blockchain works. But if it can, I think this would be a great improvement

I signed up with the intention to start writing seriously and explore hard topics that make me grow and deliver value to the reader. But I found myself tempted and having to resist the urge to post clickbaity content. I will continue to push myself to improve. However, I do think that the platform should do as much as possible to encourage the creation of great content

Maybe the solution is as simple as making every already existing post get a slice of the rewards depending on the likes it receives that day.

There is enough content on the internet already. Let's try and build something that stands out.

Thank you for reading and let me know if you have any comments!

Sort:  

You make a good point. However, consider that there are big players on Steemit who already have a large stake in terms of audience and steem power. Your idea would make them 10x richer. Small fish like you and me would never stand a chance of getting our voices heard because we are competing with people with endless portfolios of content. At least with the 7 day limit, the big players have to keep producing content instead of kicking their legs on the table and watching their bag increase in value.

You are looking at Steemit from the wrong point of view. Also the blockchain, STEEM, should be understoof first and the philosophy/mechanics behind it. I personally came here thinking the same but in time, understanding what the blockchain is and how it works, my oppinion changed, my way to aproach the blockchain and the way I look at it changed. This IS NOT A CONTENT PLATFORM. Think of it more like a social media platform, built on the tokenised blockchain of STEEM (u first have to understand what that is) that some choose to use as “incentivised facebook” while others use it as a blogging platform. And these are only the “literature” developments on the blockchain. You’ve got games, you’ve got video broadcasting platform, sound broadcasting ones and so on... you can also develop an application on the blockchain, one that will somehow tap inside the daily reward pool. But the rules of the STEEM environment never change so drastically, as u want... why?! Because this is a consumer’s wanna be ideea. Without the constant freckle of new generated content, then the value of the blockchain (and the token) drops.
BTW. Are u Romanian by any chance? :)

Oh, okay, thank you for clarifying some things for me. I need to study more. And yes, I am Romanian!

Ok. Vezi că avem o comunitate, steemromania. Foloseste tag-ul steemromania atunci cand postezi pentru a te putea vota, impreuna cu comunitatatea ce cine in trail. Deasemenea, daca ai intrebari, te asteptam pe discord, tot pe steemromania. Iti las mai joc link de join:https://discord.gg/Fe4PuE

Congratulations @andreistoc! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46