You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HolySmoke! ... Meet "Choncho" ... My next Generation Herd Sire ...

in #pets7 years ago

HolySmoke! ... I started with Boers.. They were soo LOUD and demanding it didn't take them long to make it to the plate.. Seriously, one Boer made as much noise as any 3 Kiko's .. LOL You probably know this already MTGmisfit, but the parasitic Worms hatch at about 54 degrees Fahrenheit... So In the Spring when it starts warming up to about 50 degrees, get them out of the pen, Keep them out... move them somewhere else away from there, because there's about to be a parasite Explosion !!! Doing that simple thing will help a ton, with health and vigor... all Goats have parasites .. too much of a load and they will get weak...

Sort:  

The main problem I had was the white tail deer population and the parasites they carried that seemed to affect the Boers more than my milk herd. I started with milk goats but people kept asking me for meat goats, so I got a few of them as well. Figured you can never have too many goats!

i guess White tail deer are closely related... We watched this buck walk by the herd every morning, and all the does would Pee for him... LOL We didn't see him anymore after hunting season ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62613.64
ETH 2438.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67