HolySmoke! ... Meet "Choncho" ... My next Generation Herd Sire ...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #pets7 years ago (edited)

Choncho is a Kiko Goat !!

P1010975.JPG

I Raise Kiko Goats, mostly for fun.. Kiko's are Originally from New Zealand .. They were Feral Goats living in the Hills and Mountains. They were developed into a Breed the "Native" way; which was to avoid any pharmaceuticals; No Parasite medicines; no hoof trimming; and no help with births.. Any problems, and >> off to the butcher; while this may sound harsh; It has produced a very Hearty, Parasite resistant breed of goats who are incredible foragers, require a minimum of hoof trimming, and, have fewer hoof problems, and birthing problems in general ...

P1010985.JPG

All photographs were taken by me; the photos AND the Goat are mine... Keeping it Real here.. you should too !!

P1010978.JPG

Hope you like my little 'Choncho ... He is Dee Besssss

This Nacho Libre moment was brought to you by HolySmoke! @primal-buddhist ... Please upvote little Choncho... and he may make a return !!

Sort:  

I had a solid white Kiko buck when I was raising goats. Was cross-breeding with my Boer's for hardiness as we were in a temperate climate that led to parasite problems in the popular meat breed.

HolySmoke! ... I started with Boers.. They were soo LOUD and demanding it didn't take them long to make it to the plate.. Seriously, one Boer made as much noise as any 3 Kiko's .. LOL You probably know this already MTGmisfit, but the parasitic Worms hatch at about 54 degrees Fahrenheit... So In the Spring when it starts warming up to about 50 degrees, get them out of the pen, Keep them out... move them somewhere else away from there, because there's about to be a parasite Explosion !!! Doing that simple thing will help a ton, with health and vigor... all Goats have parasites .. too much of a load and they will get weak...

The main problem I had was the white tail deer population and the parasites they carried that seemed to affect the Boers more than my milk herd. I started with milk goats but people kept asking me for meat goats, so I got a few of them as well. Figured you can never have too many goats!

i guess White tail deer are closely related... We watched this buck walk by the herd every morning, and all the does would Pee for him... LOL We didn't see him anymore after hunting season ...

The Breed originally was like 90% Solid White... I Breed for color as well as fitness..

Upvoted! I love goats! I have 23. Nubians, Alpines, and Alpines mixed with Nigerian dwarf.

I had two alpines growing up. They were also a nice breed. I just love goat antics.

I'd would like to have an Alpine Goat someday; just to see what they are like...

Keep up the commenting and the upvoting; that's all you have to do to participate.. See you made your first comment and you already aquired a follower...

had one Nubian once, i sold her to a Lady for a milk goat.. Never had an Alpine, though i hear good things about them... Thanks for commenting.. I'll be checking out your youtube channel... i love all things permaculture, except the Experts making money off of their courses... We live in the information age..

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by HolySmoke! from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64