Why Do We Suffer Our Dogs In The Name Of Walks

in #pets6 years ago (edited)

Yes, to exercise your dog every once in a while is good, but doing it at the detriment of you and your dog is a no no for me, i don't know if dog owners are blind to the fact the dogs are very uncomfortable or they just have to show off those poor animals who clearly are in pain for the glances and stares occasionally thrown at them...
Today as i stepped out of my house to get something nearby, i saw a dog owner walking his dog under the hot sun

  1. The dog clearly was not enjoying the walking cause it seem to have hip problems considering the way it was swaying
    2, the dog was reluctant to walk, the owner had to drag it along considering the strain on the dogs neck
  2. The sun was out and both the owner and dog clearly wouldn't enjoy such walks...
    So this begs the question, why do you have to walk your dog in this circumstance?
    Personally, i walk my dogs almost every weekends, why once a week is cause they are rarely on chain at home and they have a compound they can roam around.
    Secondly, i always walk them between 6:30am to 7:30am in the morning and if not in the morning, same time in the evening... No wonder my dogs relish going for their daily walks, i don't need to drag them by the collar and i get the needed exercise my body needs under amazing weather conditions
    Thirdly, if you need to walk your dog, try get a harness for it, that way even if you have to pull at time to control, you don't put much force on the neck... I walk two dogs at a time without anyone's help, although my Rottweiler is quite stubborn and likes to take control when out on walks, i still find it less difficult to take them out cause i use a harness instead of a leash to the neck
    Some even walk hairy dogs under the hot sun without a water bottle in case the dog gets thirsty, and dogs like dis suffer from heat stroke under such conditions. I was really irritated when i saw a dog going through this ordeal today, and that is why i ask, why do dog owners suffer themselves and the dog all in the name of walks?dog.jpg
Sort:  

I don't know why some people make decisions. I suppose it is how each of us make our decisions, based upon our own morals and values. Intelligence could have something to do with it... but even "common sense" for some is still taught and learned by others.

Congratulations @mactoni, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

My two dogs love going for walks. They look so forward to it, but I know what you mean. Some people don't focus on what their pet is experiencing at all. My one dog is really old and has hip issues, so I literally just take him up and down the street. He loves it, but the point is keeping it short. The other day I saw a man riding a bicycle and his dog was just about being dragged behind him. I yelled at him, but he kept going as I was speaking English and I live in an Asian country. I ended up crying in the street. I hate people who are cruel to animals.

I really do not understand why some humans are cruel to man's best friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44