RIP my sweet little girl

in #pets7 years ago

I just finished writing about how Kora changed my life and now she's moved on to the next world.

IMG_3707.JPG

IMG_3429.JPG

This morning we went for our morning walk as usual, but when we got home, Kora wanted to cross the street and check out the neighbour's yard. I walked along beside her to make sure she crosses the road safely. When she got to the middle she stopped and began wobbling on her legs. I could hear a car approaching, so I tried to coax her to finish crossing the road, but she stood her ground. I picked her up and put her down on the lawn in front of my neighbour's home and she lay down in the shade of the tree. We rested there for a while and she seemed content. After a while, I figured I could get some work done if she was at home rather than out next to the street, so I tried to convince her to get up and go home. She refused, so I picked her up and carried her home. I put her down next to her bed and brought her some fresh cool water in case she was too hot. She turned her head away, refusing the water. I thought that was a bit strange, but maybe she just wasn't thirsty or perhaps she had an upset stomach from whatever it was she found in the field yesterday and ate. I left her alone for a while and got some things done, then made myself some lunch. Surely she will come and try to beg for some of what I was having. NOPE!

Now that got me really worried, so I got one of her treats and put it in front of her nose. Again she turned her head away. That's when I called her owner (my sister-in-law) and told her what was going on. She said she would have her husband pick Kora up and if she gets worse, take her to the vet.

Well, I guess she got worse and off they went. The vet did some blood tests and put Kora on an I.V. drip. The vet said Kora was in rough shape and had a 50/50 chance of surviving and that if they brought her home she would die for sure. They were advised to transport Kora to the animal hospital and let her stay there overnight. Unfortunately, Kora died on the way there.

After doing some post-mortem tests, it was determined that Kora had cancer in her liver and spleen and that the tumor had burst and spilt fluid into her abdominal cavity. At least she died fairly quickly and was loved by both families.

Good-bye Kora; I'll miss you dearly!

Sort:  

I stopped by to read your blog, because I wanted to see how you are doing, then I saw this post and it made me sad to find out your dog died 😞, I'm sorry for your loss and it's a relief to know that at least she didn't suffer too much 😔

Thank-you Maria,

I appreciate your kind comments and that you are checking up on me. It really warms my heart.

I'm starting to get used to the idea that Kora is no longer around, however, I still need to check behind my computer chair before I roll back (I worry about the wheels of the chair rolling over her tail or leg or pinching her skin). She used to lie down right below my chair and keep me company while I did my thing at the computer.

Arggg... I was about to say that I don't cry any more, but my eyes are once again becoming wet. I do miss her a lot.

Damn my eyes got watery too, I know how you feel because I had a little puppy that died of parvovirus a couple of years ago and I miss him too 😢, but I take comfort in the idea that he is in a bettet place

I'm sorry about your puppy. I suppose one always wonders if there was more we could have done to save our little friends. It is never easy.

For now, we are trapped on this side and they are off somewhere else. One day we will also go there, but until then, we will miss them.

I am so sorry to that your beloved Kora has passed on. Pets become a huge part of the family, like children in many respects and it is devastating when they leave us. Take time to grieve your loss and remember the good times you had with you dog Kora, those times will always be with you. My condolences to you.

Thank-you so very much for your kind words. The support from this community is wonderful. I'm crying again now, but not so much from sadness but from the love I'm feeling from total strangers.

Heartbreaking, I am so sorry for your loss what a wonderful Dog Kora appeared to be.

Thank-you. She really was a sweet companion. Great disposition and loved everyone. Extremely gentle and wouldn't bite anything that was alive. She would rather run than fight.

One of the other dog walkers that knew Kora wasn't mine once told me, "Your dog just bit me." I replied, "That's impossible." He then said, "I was expecting you to say, that's not my dog!" (A famous line from The Pink Panther).

I love that movie, also I am a huge lover of Dogs I have three dogs. :)

I guess you know full well how easily one can get attached to them. They are so loyal and forgiving.

Man, bad deal I'm sorry. It sucks losing a part of the family but yes. At least it was quick. Best wishes to you, your brother and your sister in law!

Thank-you! I never expected to be so emotional about a dog that wasn't even mine.

I amso sorry about your loss. Losing a pup is definitely one of the hardest things to deal with.

Thank-you. She wasn't a puppy, she was 9 years old.

I refer to all dogs as pups lol sorry. But thats a good life! At least she knew how loved she was!

I guess a lot of people do refer to dogs as pups; I hear it a fair bit, but always assumed it was because they thought the dog was young. Yes, she actually did live a fairly long life for a dog her size.

I'm so, so sorry for your loss. My little buddy is so much part of our lives and it saddens me to think about losing him.

Much appreciated. Give your little buddy a belly scratch for me will you?

I will as soon as he wakes up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65988.06
ETH 3414.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67