I'm content

in #pets4 years ago

This is me and I'm completely content...No, not the one with the little pink nose, that's Cleo, I'm the one she's sleeping on. She thinks my lap is one of the best places to sleep and why not, I'm a comfortable dude after all.

This is what a typical night of watching TV looks like in my household with Cleo and Merlin on our laps, or close by. They wait for us to settle down, choose their spots very carefully then settle in to do what cats do best, snuggle and sleep.

I've often said that I prefer my cats to the company of most people and whilst I say it with a wry smirk on my face I actually mean it.

We choose our friends with a great deal of care and are careful with who we actually call friends; We never confuse the word friend with the word acquaintance. There is a distinct difference, at least in our lives anyway. Our cats though, well they're more than friends really.

As with most cats, ours run our household and everything revolves around them. They wake us up in the morning with a cold nose to the eye or ear, a pat on the cheek with a soft paw maybe. We feed them when they want, play with them when the want, put up with a plethora of cat toys all over the place and have no less than five cat-scratchy-castles around the house...Which protects our furniture from their claws. It's all good though, and we'd have it no other way.

We love our cats, and pour a great deal of our time, effort and emotion into them...But we know they will leave us.

We have lost a couple of cats, Dixie and Gemmi and a much-loved, and gigantic, rottweiler called Benson. It's always difficult. For me it's the fact that they can't talk back like a human can to acknowledge how much we love them. Sure, they purr and snuggle in our laps, extend their little paws to rest on our hands and rub up against us, all signs of affection, but do they know how much we love them? Some would say yes, I suppose, but how could we ever know?

Merlin, our male cat is twenty two years old and is losing weight. He used to be a strong lad, muscled and burly but now he's a skinny little fella and we know that his days are numbered.

These days Merlin gets away with just about anything...Not much different to always, but we let him eat as much as he likes and we never neglect him if he wants to play, or just say hello. You can see him above, laying outside. We don't take him out much as we're worried that he may run off as cats tend to do when they are very old, but we take him out because he loves it, and we stay with him and play. He has a good time but does a lot of laying around too these days.

We're not ready to lose our friends yet, we love them so much and are going to be devastated when they go. Merlin will be first of course and it is going to break us up, Cleo included. She idolises Merlin and the two can often be found cuddling or playing together and Cleo follows him around like a little lost puppy. It's going to be terrible to lose him, but also to see her lose her friend.

I haven't posted much about our cats as I always seem to have so much to say about other things, but they are really the two most important things we have, other than each other.

We pour so much of our love and affection into them and they mean so much to us...All with the understanding that they will go before we do. It's crazy really, but to be honest we'd not have it any other way. Some may not understand, but I know there's many here who have pets of their own and and would be equally distraught on losing them...But we'll go through that, as long as we have them with us for a time.

Right now, as I type this, Cleo is beside me on the couch. She has her head leaning on my leg and she's purring loudly. Content? Yes I am. (As she obviously is too.)


Tomorrow isn't promised - Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
An original post written by a human
Discord: galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

Sort:  

The perfect Caturday therapy, our half Bengal is on patrol thoughout the garden and Orchard.

Cats know how to work their way into our hearts huh? One of mine is on the table right now trying to help Faith and I sort through photos. He's not being much help. Lol.

Yes indeed, he rules our lands with grace and aggression when required, stays away from the Deer though, and tends not eat the denizons of the garden.

!ENGAGE 25



@planetauto you have received 25 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Losing such a friend is truly a sad moment in one's life, but let me try and cheer you up with a little story that happened to me this week.
I did lose a cat years ago; her name was Moka. Her black fur contrasted with bright yellow eyes, giving her the wildest stare, definitely fitting the attitude. Anyways, I travelled to visit friends this week and, to my surprise, they found and adopted a kitten that looks exactly like her. Coincidentally, they gave her the same name.
That had me thinking, perhaps they do have 9 lives.

Oh yeah, I think they really do have 9 lives! A pity it's not concurrently though. Thanks for sharing your story, I appreciate your comment.

!ENGAGE 30



@john-snow123 you have received 30 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

There is something truly relaxing about seeing a cat do precisely that :)

Coming home to my cats, going through the welcome home routine they have, and knowing that they don't care about my day, only that I'm there, is one of life's simple, and most valuable, experiences.

!ENGAGE 25

that is absolutely the truth. Pets are the best therapy.



@kbv.animalwelf you have received 25 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Our fluffy butts rule the house as well. They sometimes let us think we are in control, but it is really just to make us feel better.

It is always tough to lose a fur baby. I try to just be thankful for the time I have had with them.

Yes, I think that's the key...Be thankful for the time we have with them, and carry them in our memories.

!ENGAGE 20



@lordvdr you have received 20 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Nice meeting you and your cats...😼

And you.

Thanks for commenting. I assume by your profile picture you're a cat-person like my wife and I. We'll take over the world someday...Soon. Lol.

!ENGAGE 20

They have a head start by taking over my house...

Haha yes, mine too...But wouldn't have it any other way.



@manorvillemike you have received 20 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Thanks 😃🙀

My FAVE post so far.....

Thought you'd like it.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 31000 replies. Your next target is to reach 31500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Nawww kitti :D

22 is an awesome knock for a cat, obviously very well loved and healthy! And it is utterly devastating when they go :<

And after you've had a period of mourning, you'll just have to get a kitten to keep Cleo company and help with the holes in your hearts XP

Ahh purr, sounds very content indeed XD

Faith says that if anything happened to me she'd become the crazy cat Lady of the street! I can see it to be honest. Lol.

22 is a good innings for sure. He's not done yet though, that little fella is GTG for a while yet I reckon. Yes, he's much -loved...As is Cleo.

Hope you're smashing out a great weekend. We've been sorting through old photos dating back to 1987 when we first met tonight. There's some doosies. There's little wonder why I fell for Faith though. Hottie. 🙂

I'm sure there was a tonne more reasons than simply "hottie" XD

You met in 1987 and you were teenagers from memory? You're a bit older than me XD

Yeah, there were loads of reasons...I finally found someone to put up with me for one. 🤣

Yep, 1987. I was 17.5 and she was a couple weeks off 16 years old. We were just kids. Been together ever since. We're pretty proud of that to be honest. Many we know didn't last the distance.

Yeah, I'm older than you. 50 in a couple days...Ancient...I'm like a living dinosaur. Lol.

Have to admire cats - while some people focus on them being selfish, I think they are just honed at being self-sufficient and making the world around them, work for them.... If that means they are cunning at getting humans slave for them, haha good for them, its a win/win with a good purr to calm your nerves after a hard day :)

Humans? Writing posts? What is this wooliness you are trying to pull over my eyes?

I do love cats, and feel saddened when I can't instantly earn the trust of one. One day I'll be settled enough to own a couple, then I'll be content too.

Is Merlin 22 in the photo above? That's a storming age for a cat.

Yeah, these little furry things mean so much to us. We would be lost without them. Yeah, 22 years old...The black one. Merlin is a bit of a champ too...Still playful, but a bit grumpy...Like me. Lol.

He looks really well for his age. I've lost numerous mogs, it's a sad time for sure. I remember answering the door as an 8/9 year old to a guy holding my favourite moggy in his hands. Heartbroken, but appreciative now that he had the balls to come to the door after the cat had run out under his motor.

Wishing your cats a peaceful retirement!

Aww, that's terrible. It is so heartbreaking when they are gone in a split second like that. Dixie, our white one, died in Faith's arms...She was distraught...I'd given her Dixie as a gift as a kitten. It was heartbreaking. Someone kicked her and shattered all her ribs. We did what we could at the vet but a week later she died after her operation.

We put ourselves at risk of that pain when we take on pets, but I couldn't be without them in my life.

Cats are good for the soul, I hope you can get one someday. P.s. Good that the driver even stopped, let alone brought you cat in.

We put ourselves at risk of that pain when we take on pets

We do, not that we are told this as children. They are good for the soul, and I'm looking forward to those days again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43