Pets and Prepping

in #pets7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0056.JPG

One of the most overlooked areas in both emergency preparedness and survivalism is pets well being. Many peoples plans simply involve feeding them rice every day or letting them run wild.

Obviously this is not good enough. I recommend starting out by getting large bags of pet food and storing them a storm shelter or root seller if you have one. Dry pet food lasts a surprisingly long time and complementing this with tinned varieties adds to your total preparedness.

After you have the food sorted, double check the amount of water you have stored. Having enough water for your pets for emergencies and long term survival is another essential element in keeping them alive.

Now so far I have focused on keeping your pets alive, not happy. To keep them happy I recommend making a pet prep box with all the grooming, toys and basic health care for your pets. For basic health care - worming tablets, tick removers, garlic tablets and ear cleaning products.

With all this in place you can ensure your furry children survive the apocalypse.

IMG_0051.JPG

Survive and Thrive!

EDIT: This post is obviously quiet popular and I think the message is very important. Please Resteem so everyone's pet can survive shtf!

Sort:  

Aww I love your puppy. We have two Labradors. Miss Molly says hi!

19420392_773790246115682_6474406175805551898_n.jpg

Another thing I would add to your list, is a dog first aid kit. So things like vet wrap, doggie OTC medications, and bandages etc. I am working on finishing up our people first aid kit and will be putting kits together for our furchildren next!

That is definitely a way to level up your preparedness. For those who cannot afford a specific doggy first aid kit - get a pet first aid book and make do with human meds.

What a great read. I have 1 dog and 2 cats and feed them homemade dog /cat food. However you make a good point about their grooming and toys. Dogs that are bored tend to act out so it is actually important. Thanks for the nudge in the right direction. NOW FOLLOWING YOU. for the good content. UPVOTED

Thank you, I am new to Steem and will have a lot more content for everyone!

that's exactly true. people don't realize how easy it can be to prep for the animals too.

This post is obviously quiet popular and I think the message is very important. Please Resteem so everyone's pet can survive shtf!

Absolutely agree! My dog is the most important member of my family! He definitely gets taken care of! You're right though! Definitely not something I thought of to "prepare for"!

What a cutie 😍😍 followed and want more. Love dogs

My gardening update 1 video has one of my pets in it too FYI.

Ill check it out. If you like gardening I would like to show you my tiny succulent garden https://steemit.com/colorchallange/@runicar/colorchallange-thursday-green-my-tiny-succulent-garden

Just realise I have not shared that video on Steemit it is on my other channels however.

HI ! I am a new member! please, follow me back and vote for my first post! thanks!

My post is about golden retriever! You ll love it!

You dog is awesome!!!!

Great Post!!!
I upvote this post and im following you, so I hope you follow me back,
@nunojesus

Thank you for sharing this post I never really gave any thought to my pets survival to be honest I was going to be one to let them run wild. But now you have me thinking and planning. Thanks again i will share this with others and I will follow you.

Then my job is done! Please consider Resteeming so we can save more pets :)

Already did your information needs to get out there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56