Tears for a Cat (A Rarely Posted @AngryMan Poem)

in #pets5 years ago

Tears for a Cat


It's so quite tonight

sitting on the back porch

gazing at the moon.

It's June

and it seems like you've been gone forever

yet

yesterday...was only May

as I weakly, watched you

fade away...

It's so...quite now

and

I'm feeling a little better.

The thunderous tears, have all gone dry.

You were just a cat...

 just a cat

yet

it was hard 

to say

goodbye.


Once in awhile, the death of a loved one is not always human; that one you've come to love...who loves you, in return, might be an animal of a different species.

That loss, may be just as difficult to bear...and the grief may linger long.

This poem came to me, remembering the many years one such pet shared their life and love with me, then quietly passed away.


@AngryMan - Feb. 2, 2020

Sort:  

Thank you @curie , @curangel and all others who visited this post with love.

Beautiful poem.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @j85063 . In past years, I've written many. Probably hundreds...some of which were scrawled on paper napkins in NYC Diners during the wee hours of morning :>)

This is a new one though.

Wonder how many people found those scrawled poems at the diners?

Posted using Partiko Android

If I ever left one there, it was an accident...except for one time I can remember leaving it there for a waitress, who looked like she needed to read something to lift her spirit.

I don't remember the poem...and it was a random Diner that I may never have returned to.

Hope she got the poem and it helped.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very good friends

Yes...they can be very good friends. Thank you.

Oh, sorry I was confused.. thought you meant a BREXIT poem. This is really sad and beautiful.

I always find pets really ghostly when they go - you can see them in the periphery of your vision but they aren't really there...

I've had many experiences with the presence of pets who have passed on too @riverflows , like feeling my cat creep along beside me in bed like they used to do when alive to lay with me.

I've even heard their call, briefly, in completely unexpected moments. Peripheral visions of them have happened as well...but, then again...I have had similar experiences with deceased family members and friends.

:>)

natural estrangement is a sad event, but we have no way to overcome it. we are mere victims of reality...very sorry for the loss

we are mere victims of reality...

An interesting statement, of which I might sometimes agree with; yet, there are times 'I suspect' that we merely perceive "reality" according to our own making/mindset.

Thank you for your thoughts @troynamps

glad we share the same sentiments

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61199.00
ETH 2393.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56