Petals Contest - Pink Flower Day - Orchids

in #petals6 years ago


Exotic Pink Orchids


pink orchids.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

As I was preparing this post it struck me that although this flower, the orchid, is somewhat exotic to me for some, it is an everyday bloom. A bit like the Polish train I wrote about recently.

I took this photograph at the local garden centre in the indoor section as it wouldn't grow outdoors here.



Thank you to @adrianobalan and @sardrt for creating the #petals community and contests.
Find our more by clicking here and to @juliank and @photocontests for the macrophotography contest.

Sort:  

Great photo. I like how you captured the open bloom even with the flowers hanging down. Love the range of pinks.

Thanks @steen-patrick although in shots lke these I think the flower does most of the work. Or maybe I do myself a disservice! 😊

I like orchids. I would like to raise at least one in my house, but I know that they need to be given special conditions. I have to study it in detail. Very nice picture. This flower has a very delicate shade.

I love how these flowers hang down @malenfox. That and their colour is what caught my eye in particular.

I'm sure you could grow one at home. As long as they don't get too cold and you don't over water them you should be OK. 😊

@gillianpearce, I saw special large aquariums for them with special devices for maintaining the microclimate. These cost a lot of money. But I still will try even without it :)

I've bought them as gifts for friends a few times and most of them have survived and flourished. They all have central heating in their houses so, although it gets cold at night, it wouldn't drop below freezing.

I think the biggest challenge is keeping them moist without over watering but it's been a long time since I had one so I could be wrong 😁

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-21T16:56:36
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2158.09/3200.00
Total Photos: 265
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

How beautiful picture in your post. I am very happy look it

Thank you very much @penasantri. Glad it makes you happy! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79