Dog Person VS Cat Person - or - Biting VS ScratchingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #pet6 years ago (edited)

In this post, I will tell you in which of the two categories I am falling and how it happened.


His own best friend: The Mog, half man half dog :-)

My family always had both, cats and dogs, and while there was usually one dog barking and protecting our home, there were three cats roaming around hunting and eating mice. This constellation held up until I was about 16, when our dog named Peter died. After that, my parents refrained from getting another one and so we only had cats in our house.


Awwww so cute!!

Peter, our German German Shepard who only understood German

My dad lived in Germany for a while when I was a small kid and since he was so lonely, he decided to get a companion for the time he had to stay there. His choice was Peter, a very well behaved German Shepard who cost about the equivalent of a new car - at least that's what he always bragged about. And Peter was worth that money, he was quite amazing. We never had any trouble with him, he could do tricks, he could live inside and outside the house (no poop or pee incidents), he never attacked anyone and he listened to every command he was given.

The problem with the latter was that Peter grew up in Germany and so he was taught German commands:

SITZ! PLATZ! BEI FUSS! AUS!

After trying to get him on level with English, my parents eventually gave up and used the German words. My dad even spoke German with him when he was petting him. I never noticed a difference in Peters behaviour, but my dad insisted that sometimes he needed it emotionally and indeed he would understand him when he talked to him in German. Well, my mom, my siblings and I used English when being with Peter - the exception were the commands - and I think we had a good relationship with him anyway. Perhaps, it was dad who needed it to keep is language skills from rusting.

Peter being in my life for such a long time gives me a clear head start as dog person. Not everyone has a close relationship with a dog and so it is understandable that people don't even get the idea that a dog could be their best choice for a companion as well.

Others though stay away from dogs, because they had a negative experience with a dog. I had one too. It was after Peters death that another dog attacked me: He bit me in the arm! While the bite itself wasn't too serious - there was no flesh would, only the teeth left a mark - I was quite shocked about it because it happened so suddenly and I got completely overwhelmed by the dog.

The strange thing about the incident was that the dog (plus the owner) knew me and the dog also knew me with Peter. So, perhaps the dog had some grudge with me, but didn't dare attacking me while Peter was around. But when he was gone: Snap!

I guess it depends on the breed, the individual character and the upbringing that determines whether there is a residual risk in a dog - they are probably not too different to humans in that regard - but it put quite a dent into my dog universe. I never expected that to happen and who knows what the dog might have done with me if its owner hadn't been around..


Name: Tiger; Designation: Cute

Mickey, Blacky and Tiger - our cat trinity

We always had cats and they were always named the same way and the name was given to them by their color. As this might sound a bit strange to you, it is very convenient. Blacky was always a black cat. Tiger always had tiger stripes and Mickey was black and white like a cow.

I remember three generations of cats in my parents house and in difference to Peter they were allowed to roam freely and could come and go as they pleased. They even had their own entrance. I really liked them and I think we all know how calming the petting of a purring cat can be. It's a textbook win-win.

This made it even bearable that on occasion they brought mice into the house to play with them and offer them to us for dinner - at least that is the common interpretation when that happens. Cats really have to like their owners to do something like that. Sharing your next meal is in fact something very precious, which especially counts for animals who share that with a different species.

Beyond seeing the cats hunting and eating a bird once, I don't remember a cat doing anything nasty. Which makes their claws their most negative aspect, which they regularly extend when sitting on your lap and then they start sharpening them on your clothes and legs. And you can tell them a thousand times not to do so, they just love scratching their humans too much..


A classic example for a crazy cat lady at work

I guess that makes me a 75% cat person

I am now living on my own since almost two years. So far my lifestyle keeps me from having pets and that's why I have neither cat nor dog at home. But I could imagine having them, they do fill gaps in your life, some of which you may not even realize to have.

Thinking about it, I guess my first pick would be a cat, or perhaps two to make sure they are not alone. But having pets at least for me was always connected with being a family. That's why I will probably wait until I have a family - or at least a man in my life with whom I can plan for the rest of my life.

I wouldn't even mind if he preferred dogs (unless of course he's a cat hater..) and I do tend to think that on average, men prefer dogs while women prefer cats. Not sure if that has merits and please don't take this personally, but the first category in my mind for a man who owns a cat - or even several ones - is the one for softies. Feel free to prove me the wrong.

On the other side, I do have to assume, men think alike in these kinds of stereotypes and a woman with cats is probably closer to their category for crazy cat lady than in the one for person to take seriously.

That's why my first pet will probably be a fish. It's just safer that way :-)

Which leaves the question: What kind of person are you - cat or dog? Let me know in the comments!



Image Source: Twitter,DogTime,Cutest Paw,Huffington Post,TV Tropes

Sort:  

Cat person for sure!

Here he is:

What a lion! Thanks for sharing the image.

I can see the ups and downs to both dogs and cats, and always thought I was a dog person. Until my partner suggested we get house rabbits, turns out, bunnies are a keen competitor in this race for me! Like cats, their affection is hard won, but all the more rewarding for it, no claws to dig into your legs, no bits of mouse, but then they do attack cables. They are very affectionate, and capable of complex emotions, I had never thought to put bunnies on par with cats and dogs until I had one, but they are much easier to convince a rental agency to let you have ;) although once you go floof, you may never go back tehehe

So far, I haven't made any experiences with bunnies. But they do sound like an interesting petting alternative:-)

I imagine, they need more care and attention than cats, who are very independent. House rabbits probably don't survive that well when you let them out of the house..

You might be surprised how independent and head strong they are 😆 mine ignore me most of the time and come over demanding a fuss when they want them. I suppose most pets are pretty much impossible not to love once you have one lol

Your piece got me laughing most of the time. The German German Shepherd, the dog that waited for Peter to leave the scene before attacking you, the names of your cats, category of men who own cats... Etc

I've never had any pet animal and I've been chased by dogs about twice or thrice.

That said, I don't mind having a dog. I don't know why. Maybe I've seen too many movies showing dogs are loyal and friendly creatures

Blessings

I'm happy you liked it!!

I guess dogs come with a higher risk-reward ratio. If you get the right one, you'll have a friend and companion you don't want to miss anymore..

Smiles

Amen on that

So, it's mostly the softie category :-)

I don't like both but is that an exception that can stop us from becoming friends?
I love your content .Mind checking my stuff???😉

I'll take a look :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68726.56
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67