Sort:  

Have you ever had a one-cat-per-house cat, and tried to introduce to him another one-cat-per-house cat? Supposedly, after a year or two, they're supposed to get used to each other. I'd have fought harder for Merlin but husband truly didn't like him, and it's not fair to a cat to live with that. They know. I can love him to kingdom come, but if someone in the house has hate vibes for the shedding menace who crawls through duct work and has to helped down from a very steep roof... I NEVER SHOULD HAVE LET HIM GO! - except that Merlin is happier, I'm sure, as King Cat, only cat in this 5,000 sq.ft. Victorian home with the Harley riding Teamsters Union master.
Merlin!

Ok 2 cats don't get along, I understand. Are you saying you found a home for Merlin? So what pets do you have now Bobi and a dog?

Alas! Yes, we had to re-home Merlin! He is in a better place.
Bobi tolerates the dogs. The first two were here when he got here, and were too old to pester a cat. Both dogs died. Bobi did not mourn their loss. Next, a puppy - Bobi slapped him around - and a year later, another Collie, so we have a pair of Collies once again. Thanks for asking (you must be sorry you did). How about you? If I click on your name and check out your posts, I will likely find out...

I will never stop missing that crazy cat Merlin

Sorry about Merlin. Great how they have their own personalities from birth. Some better than others. I took in a stray cat years ago. And they kept coming year after year. Now I am at saturation point of 10 house cats and one in the basement. Long Story.

https://steemit.com/dailypetphotography/@manorvillemike/noon-time-walk-with-me

Oh, thanks for the link - I can't believe I missed it! Ten cats! I love the gray, and who can say why? What is it about one cat, vs another cat, that steals our hearts? Call me mystified.

I'm (over) making up for not having a dog or cat growing up maybe.

Compensating! Ha. Yes. Go right ahead. You're the one scooping cat litter, not me. (Ten!)

At the pound, we'll often see a lone cat in a cage with the Disclaimer, "Needs to be the only cat in the house."