English Lesson: Pet Peeves (Intermediate - Advanced levels)

in #pet-peeves6 years ago (edited)

Pet Peeves

Level: Intermediate to Advanced English
Number of Students: Pairs [I - individual option]
Lesson Length: 60-65 minutes
Format: Printable Handout - Embedded Lesson Plan
Teaching Philosophy: Task-based, Communicative, Text-based
Lesson Success: Tried and true - guaranteed to successfully engage students and encourage meaningful learning (Please post to share your experience)


[source: media.giphy.com/media/54PaD9dWT0go/giphy.gif]

Introduction (5'):

Look at this GIF. Describe how this person feels. When do you feel this way?

** Pet Peeves definition:**
"something that someone personally feels is very annoying."

Task 1 (10'):

Work with a partner. Talk about three things that you hate. Finish the following phrases. (They all mean: "I hate it")

  1. I can't stand it when...
  2. It drives me mad when...
  3. I find it annoying when...

Here are some examples for you to follow:

[I - write out your three sentences down, write three more sentences about another person you know well]

Task 2 (10-15'):

Look at this list carefully:
https://www.ranker.com/list/everyone_s-biggest-pet-peeves/analise.dubner
(use a dictionary to understand unfamiliar words)

  1. Which are the most popular pet peeves? Why do you think they are most popular?
  2. Discuss the ones that you also have and why they bother you.

[I - Write the answer to the questions above]

Task 3 (15'):

Look at these public messages people wrote to the public. Why do you think they said each one? Do you agree with their intentions?


[source: i.pinimg.com/564x/76/c8/f6/76c8f6236d3b5ae4fa73ca88683d4599.jpg]


[source: cdn-webimages.wimages.net/05357215720ad883a60d64b375e1f3675d63c6-wide-thumbnail.jpg?v=4]


[source: izquotes.com/quotes-pictures/quote-i-wish-people-would-love-everybody-else-the-way-they-love-me-it-would-be-a-better-world-muhammad-ali-3004.jpg]

Grammar: Study these examples
"I wish my boyfriend wouldn't chew with his mouth open"
"I wish my friends were on time when we go out together"
"I wish that driver wouldn't drive so close behind me"
"I wish the teacher had more patience with us"
"I wish people wouldn't believe everything they read in the newspaper"

Notice:

  1. Rules: Mark the examples above with each rule
    a) The verb "to be" becomes "were"
    b) The verb "to have" becomes "had"
    c) Other verbs are formed with "would"

  2. Think: Are all the examples above about other people?

  3. Apply: Complete these sentences (they should be true for you)
    a) I wish my ___________ wouldn't ___________ (friend, brother/sister, parent)
    b) I wish ___________ would ___________ (people in public places)
    c) I wish ___________ would ___________ (drives/cyclists)
    d) I wish kids today would ______________________
    e) I wish politicians would just _________________________________
    f) I wish ____________ would continue being a great person

Task 4 - Final Practice (15'):

a. Write the names of 5 people that you either know personally or because they are famous.

b. Take turns with your partner asking about each of your 5 people. Let your partner try to guess and then tell them what you wish each of them would do.

[I - Write 5 short emails to 5 people telling them what you wish they would or wouldn't do and why.]

Task 5 - Conclusion (5'):

What do you wish you would or wouldn't have to do in English class?

Credit and other notes:
This lesson has been entirely designed planned and researched by me, yourah (not my real name), the images have been taken from various sources on Google Images. Please inform if there is any issue with their use.

Permission and use:
I grant permission for anyone to print and use this worksheet + lesson in their classroom on the condition that you Up-vote this post. I do not sell any of my content. I only teach it and distribute it. If you would like to share it with others, please send them to this link. Replication of any content in this post for the purposes of further distribution whether for profit or not is strictly forbidden.

About the creator: I am an actively working teacher. I teach the indicate levels above and have done this lesson many times with proven success every time. I have been teaching for over 5 years. I created new content that is authentic and tested for its success. I have taken the extra time to convert my lessons into publishable content that can be used by others by simply printing or by using other media.

Sort:  

Congratulations @yourah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks! I'm new to Steemit and looking forward to making use of this really fascinating platform.

Congratulations @yourah, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76