Giving thanks

in #personal7 years ago

I have been staring at my title for the better part of two days - not because I have writer's block but because I didn't know where to start! This is not a bad problem to have unless your goal is to create consistent blog posts and get back in the saddle again.

But I digress, it's so good to be here reading through the posts, leaving comments, and feeling the pulse of our growing platform. I have so much to be thankful for and I attribute much of it to the Steemit community.

expressions-1314687_640.jpg

image source

Giving Thanks

1100 followers!

WOW. I am truly floored by this and I think many of you are new to the platform. Thank you for putting me on your reading list! I don't think I have a niche. I really just like to share the stuff that comes to mind whether they are memories, helpful tips, art, stories...

One of my ultimate favorite quotes:


image source

Since joining Steemit I've begun to lose my filter and my eyes have been open to new possibilities. My writing has become more honest. I have never felt the need to be apologetic for existing here. Considering my youth, this is a 180° turnaround!

11 months on Steemit

June 22 will officially be 11 months since I've joined Steemit. I went from being nearly homeless to planning two trips to South Carolina to watch my sons graduate from Marine Corps bootcamp. I wrote about the need to power down to cover costs. Honestly, if I didn't have Steemit, there is no way this would have been possible. In addition to being blessed with 192 upvotes and so many wonderful comments, I want to shout out a few people who gave generously when they did not have to! (25 STEEM and 59 SBD total)

@hanshotfirst | @klye | @nextgen622 | @exyle | @lloyddavis

I endeavor to be a good steward to the Steemit community and will continue doing #payitforward initiatives to keep those blessings moving forward.


#payitforward

There are currently two ongoing initiatives that I am participating in.

#hamburgersaintproject

I was able to donate $66 SBD to @lexikon082's project of love and legacy. As one of the recipients of the first gift, it is now my honor and privilege to find two Steemians who will carry on the project. To learn more about the Hamburger Saint Project, in memory of Sgt. Michael Barkey (KIA), please visit my gift reveal post and consider following @hamburger-saint.

By the way, in case you missed it,
I still need two volunteers to forward gifts! Will it be you?

A call for help

@thecrazygm has been dealing with pain for the last ten years since he's broken his back. Lately he's been falling down because of partial paralysis in his legs and he's been in the hospital. The bills and copays are piling up and he could use our help. Visit the #payitforward post and read about ways to help him out


Support the Steemit youth

I wish we had a sister site called SteemitKids because I am seeing more and more young ladies and gentlemen embracing this wonderful platform.

I'd like to bring your attention to a few young Steemian entrepreneurs/creators who are using Steemit as a piggybank for their future. I'm sure many of you have misgivings about young people on the site, especially with the adult content. I know I can have a potty mouth but their accounts are supervised by their parents.

@little-peppers

These peppers are so fun to watch as they share photos of their adventures in nature. This is an alt account operated by the one and only @papa-pepper.

@golden-bellerina

Ishmeet is a lovely little lady who shares her art and little bits about her day. Her account is monitored by @mathworksheets who is fast becoming one of my favorite people because he's such a calm spirit.

@cmgsteems

She is an "8 year old kid" and I just started following her a couple of days ago. Her posts are always first approved by mom @sgnsteems

If you're looking for awesome people to follow and support, consider encouraging our young people and the parents who see a bright future for them with Steemit's help.



My boys' battalion colors and platoon number


Mighty Mikes

Easy (Evil) Echo

Follow me on Twitter
or visit my website to connect.

All images are mine unless otherwise noted. Green Guy courtesy of Pixabay CC0 public domain
Sort:  

Hey mere! I've been thinking about a post featuring some of the SteemKids, to help them find and follow each other.

As well as the ones you've mentioned, I've come across:

Nov 16 - @aidancloquell (10) son of @mallorcaman
Dec 16 - @korinakokokori (10)
Dec 16 - @girlwithavoice (11) – from NZ, possibly daughter of @biglipsmama?
Mar 17 - @kids-trail (13)
Jun 17 - @thehomeschoolkid (10)
Jun 17 - @nicholaspang

and @lexikon082 is posting vids with his 7 year old son, who he'll be signing up as wolfdawg

These kids are the future of Steemit, so any of them who have the initiative to be active here deserve our support.

Thank you @kiwideb! I will check them out!

Very cool! Thank you for sharing this.

I'm going down the list to start following them too.

Congratulations, so cool that you have got 1100 followers. It's really nice to encourage more young people to join Steemit as they are the generation of the Internet and social media and they will do very well in this platform!

I believe the future is here and supporting our youth now will hopefully encourage them to be creative and self-sufficient. Man, I wish I had Steemit when I was a kid! :P

Thanks for sharing your story, Congrats on your success. Upvoted for you!

Thank you so much @inviter - I hope you take a moment to visit some of the people I've mentioned too. They are pretty awesome :)

You are so supportive @merej99! Thank you for mentioning @cmgsteems. I try to help out our youth community and encourage my daughter to post what she loves with the community. I also upvote @nba05 who is 13, also @mathworksheets son. he has talented children!

I also love the #payitforward projects you have. You have a great heart and that is why you have so many followers! Congrats and thank you!

Now if I could only get my kids to join Steemit! They still think it's "funny internet money". This is why I use the hashtag #CoolerThanMyKids LOL
I hope some these guys get a boost in followers and in their piggy banks! Thank you for bringing @nba05 to my attention too.

Your kids will want to join, and maybe by then they have to pay to open accounts! coolerthanmykids lol. Thanks again, and yes you are welcome about letting you know about @nba05 :)

Congratulations dear friend @ meriq99 for all you have done for the community and our platform, I have witnessed the majority of your good deeds, for that reason you have deserved those 1100 followers and all your achievements.
Thank you very much for all the support you give to my work.
I wish with all my heart that your successes continue.
have a beautiful day.

You are always so kind @jlufer. I'm still chasing that 70 reputation score! It will happen eventually. Did you ever start an account for your grandchildren?

I am thinking of opening an account for them, even though I can not do it, I have not been able to make money for a long time, I have been coming for more than two years without good income, now I am paying off debt, then I must start by repairing things The house that have deteriorated this time and just there I am in a position to make an investment for them, and you how I solved their things?
I greet your husband, have a nice day.

good to see you back posting, Girl - this is the time to full steem ahead!

I'm finally carving out ME TIME, John. Steemit is my peace of mind. Now I need to break out my art supplies and I'll be whole again! ps - I'm so glad to be back. <3

You always wear your heart on your sleeve and always helping others. Steemit is lucky to have you. Hang in there and be well. Cheers!

Thank you @runrudy - that means a lot to me. HUGS

@merej99 I took a break from steemit for a while because I got burnt out. I never did social media before this and sharing so much personal stuff was asking alot from me. It also became a burden to continually bring creative content on the daily. That was really stressful for me because I don't like sharing if it is not my best. I left steemit and had to rebalance my life and find other things that made me happy. I came back refreshed and energetic. Lately, I have been hearing from other good friends on steemit that have been feeling the same way. Grinding away non stop and they need a break. Things are picking up around here but sometimes the body and mind needs what the body and mind needs. I have been away for a while so, I am not sure if this is the same for you. Yet, I have seen you always take care of everyone else, your family, and members of this community. @merej99 don't forget to take care of yourself. You deserve it. Be well.

I remember the daily grind when I first started. A big part of that was sheer motivation to hit reputation and follower milestones. Working with VIVA the last few months has taken a lot of my time and Steemit fell by the wayside but it's felt like a missing link being away. Now I'm trying to find balance. I can't even believe that I schedule nap time too! That never would have happened a few years ago. I'm realizing that I so much more productive when I take a little break and I've also made peace with the fact that I cannot do everything. You know what? It kind of sucks getting old.

I am very happy to hear you are doing well! I apologize if I misread into your post. I just downloaded the VIVAconomy whitepaper and wow. You are working on world changing solutions. Amazing. I need to take everything you wrote here and follow it as good advice to prevent a second burnout for myself. As I am feeling the aging process take over as well. Thank you @merej99 keep fighting the good fight. Cheers!

Congrats on your success. I hope to achieve great results after my first year as well.

It's almost 11 months for you, it's been about 1 week for me. lol

Long way to go!

There were days that I was so frustrated with the learning curve that I wanted to cry - but I stuck with it! You can too! Best wishes and Welcome to Steemit! I just followed you and looking forward to your posts :D

Thank you I followed you back =)

Congrats @merej99 - it's nice to see the same folks I started with still around. I hit 11 months this week as well.

You know, the very first day I read the whitepapers I knew Steemit was going to be around. I've been trying to recruit people ever since! What's cool too is seeing a lot of people who left for a while are starting to come back. It almost feels like a family reunion! :) Happy almost one year anniversary to you too :D

Yes, you too.....one year celebration right around the corner! :-)

Congratulations for your honest writings and for the 1100 followers. Continued success.

Thank you for stopping by @team101 - I hope to continue writing, helping, and sharing my journey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97