Yoga Thoughts: Silence, Savasana, and Independence

in #personal8 years ago

Double Exposure by Victor Tondee


1) Silence is restorative.

Moving together in a group without discussion or conversation, without pursuits of the mind, or seeking agreement, allows for an awareness of humanity as flesh and blood, animal, primal, vulnerable.

2) Savasana is good for imaginative healing.

Thursday, I imagined fairies sewing up my energy body with golden thread while others played bells and struck gongs against my flesh. Today, I imagined tiny dancers over my heart, swirling and spinning, coming together and moving apart. 

3) Independence requires knowing yourself.

This might have less to do with yoga itself and more to do with the fact that I was thinking about it during yoga. I've been in the middle of a long, drawn out loss of my best friend. It's no one's fault. It's not a lack of love. It's just that things are broken and I can't fix them. I've allowed myself to admit that and I've grieved it (though that part may not be over) and now I'm recognizing a few things:

-- I'm lonely without her. I have other friends and I love them dearly, but our friendship was unique and special, our understanding of each other deep and sincere. No one can replace her in my heart or mind, no one can bring to me what she did. This is a loneliness that will not be resolved by feeding more humans into my life. This is a loneliness for *her*. 

-- I trust myself more without her. I don't feel the need to ask her advice or opinion before making important decisions. Independence feels lonely but a lot clearer, too. I am stepping into my own authority and there's a bittersweet quality to it. I like standing on my own two feet, but there's a loneliness to it, too.

And that's all I've got today. I need to get to my book writing now. Thanks for entertaining my introspective babble.

Sort:  

Your"introspective babble" was genuine, and not this run-of-the-mill, bla-bla-I´m-deep-and-spiritual kind of thing. Which is why I wanted to read it all.
So thank you! I have gone though similar processes,not too shockingly, and you described it well.

You bring up great points. I love these aspects of yoga as well. Practicing in silence as a group makes me feel very connected to others and something bigger. Such a powerful thing. love your visualizations during savasana! Will have to do some imaginative healing myself. Yoga brings up lots of things for us, it's magical that way. Sometimes it's not pretty things, but things that we have held in too deep for too long. I'm happy you are noticing these things! 🙏🏽

Mhmmm, thank you for your vulnerability and your beautiful thoughts. This year I've also had a very long and drawn out, falling out with one of my long time best friends. It took me some time to accept that the cycle of our friendship has reached a point of needed rest and separation, but now I see and I'm so grateful for this shift, as I am seeing myself differently again. Also opening new space for new beautiful people to come into my life. I know this healing will emerge for you as well <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50