On Loss, and Growth (Part 2)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #personal-growth6 years ago (edited)

Fifteen months have passed since the loss I described in Part 1.
Dust begins to settle on the change and upheaval of last year: my mother-in-law's move, my new role as owner of the dojo my departed teacher left behind, life with a less stable income and more flexible schedule. Anger, resistance, and fear of moving on are fading.

being-becoming.jpg
A note about fear: maybe this is always part of life after a loss, but fear was the emotion that crept up and surprised me after losing two men who were essentially father figures. I thought I was a capable adult in my late thirties, but I now see there was always someone standing between me and the greater responsibilities which now terrified me.

Whether or not my husband and I are ready to take care of an adult in her late 70's is irrelevant; there is no one else. Whether or not I am ready to run the business I helped build for nearly 10 years is hardly relevant; either I step forward or the whole thing collapses. Like it or not, I have to become the person who does these things. And as the bottle cap above clearly states, "Becoming starts with being."

2017-10 Goto Sensei Seminar (3) web.jpg Photo by Bill Aquino

I want so much to wrap this up neatly, to tell you how I've grown and the lessons you can take away - but that's all there is, really. Becoming starts with being. It doesn't matter what I am not, it matters what I am. Don't misread that as a feel-good platitude. It is about self-forgiveness, but that's not all it is.

You can’t grow from some imaginary start point; your growth starts from where you are now. What do you want to be in the future? You can't just go there; you have to grow into it. That growth starts today, building from this exact moment and each moment that follows.

In the image above, I'm practicing with my teacher's teacher (Goto Shihan) in the first seminar hosted by my dojo since I took ownership. We manged to break even on that event and a second one in Spring. I am proud of this, but I still feel insecure.

Today I worked 5 billable hours at the clinic and received a paycheck. I did not feel like doing my paperwork, but I conquered the demon of procrastination by telling myself I'd just sit down and do 3 notes. I got into flow and finished all 5. I got home in time to play Minecraft with my son and do some writing.

Tomorrow (actually today, as I am signing off past midnight) is my 39th birthday. I will get a workout and join my dojo friends for some lunch. I'm going to give myself credit for my growth so far as a leader of that group. Being humble is a virtue, but it isn't serving me where leadership is what's most needed. Then, I'll enjoy the rest of my birthday with my family.

It's going to take courage and focus to sustain the growth I expect of myself this year. It will also require time to relax, reflect, and simply enjoy being.

Sensei and Papa, I am still learning from you.

Sort:  

Very inspirational. You sharing your struggles and fears take a lot of courage. It doesn't seem to matter how old we are that we still feel unprepared sometimes for what life throws our way. We are meant to step up and take on those challenges like you have done. I hope things have gotten easier for you since you wrote this but I certainly congratulate your fortitude and helping your loved ones that need you :)

This is an amazing story @wholeself-in, wow you have encountered your share of adversity of the last few months. This post is an excellent job of reflection and look to the future with hope and spirited tenacity. I am very glad to see you joined this contest, wonderful submission, I will be picking you up some minnowbooster votes this is worthy of more than just my vote!

Thanks! I really appreciate what you guys are doing. We find strength in community, and I think this is true on Steemit as well as with the people I know in person!

That's what is so cool about this place. It almost squeezes even slightly better versions of yourself over time, especially if you associate yourself with a crowd that has the right attitude! I am very happy to see that you have joined the contest/endowment these are the kinds of entries that are the best, personal and sincere!

This is an honest, open account of what life puts in front of you - and the fact that you can either suck it up, or crumble.

I see you've chosen the former, well done to you :)

Thank for sharing your story @wholeself-in. This sort of original content I do enjoy to read, when it is offered.

Thank you very much! This means a lot!
Thanks for curating Steemit with integrity.

either I step forward or the whole thing collapses. Like it or not, I have to become the person who does these things

its a hard road and one I personally understand . make sure you take some time for yourself , easier said then done
best wishes to you and your family

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by LauraDee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @wholeself-in! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Congratulations @wholeself-in! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58239.61
ETH 2287.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50