Living A Permaculture Life

P_20190730_175035.jpg

I done a permaculture design course 8 years ago in Ireland and it really stirred up this deep inner knowing . It was as though this light switched on inside of me, a light that had laid dormant and now had finally come to life again. Everything I learnt made complete sense and I felt like I was returning home.

I had always looked to nature to teach me, to show me the way, this was nothing new. But the skills I learnt, the new ways in which to look and observe, they inspired in me and light a fire within me. Permaculture is about solutions, it is about focusing on what we can do now in this moment, in our present situation to improve our lives, the lives of our community and the planet as a whole.

It asks us to look at the natural ecosystems within the world and use them as a model for our own habitats, for our own lives. Natural ecosystems are fully sustainable, are interactive and produce no waste, when we spend time in nature, observing and learning, we than gain a greater knowledge about how we can become more sustainable. But even more than that, we learn how how we can improve our relationship with the earth. How we can be of service to her.

One of the most important lessons I learnt, was to spend time observing your environment, so that you can make informed choices that really benefit the land and allow you to always use that which is available to you. To work with what is already present. With the idea to really preserve and enhance what is already there .

P_20190730_175346.jpg

The same goes for our own lives, how often do we take the time to really sit with ourselves and observe what is happening in our lives. How often do we make time for ourselves, to really reflect. To really embrace who we are and the journey that has gotten us to where we are now. What lessons have we learnt, what will we carry forward and what can we let go off.

I remember during the course realizing how relevant the permaculture principles are to our own lives and not just to the environment we live in and it was then that I realized that this, is what it is all about. Making that connection between the land and us and our communities. We learn so much when we take the time to sit with those around us, when we learn the value in embracing people for who they are.

By observing others, we allow ourselves to really see them for who they are. How often have we made assumptions about someone based on just one experience. So quick to pass judgement. Yet each day we are different, each day we change as we react to our environment, just as everything in nature does. We need to take the time to connect with others.

However the fast pace of our lives means that although we do still look at things, we don't always see. Because we simply do not take the time to see.

We need to make the time to relearn how to see again and permaculture really urges us to become better observers, it urges us to really see. This is one of the many reasons why I choose to live a permaculture life and over the next few days I will write about how the different principles have helped me to reconnect with myself and also helped to enrich my life. For now I must go be with my girls and observe and learn from them.


8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp




DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

@tipu curate
@giphy curate 100


A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

#sbi-skip !trdo

Congratulations @amico, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @trucklife-family!
@trucklife-family will receive 0.17976600 TRDO & @amico will get 0.11984400 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Upvoted 👌


Powered by witness untersatz!

Amazing post. It is so important to sit and watch and observe and learn - even more so in our increasingly busy lives. I'd love to do a permaculture course - most of what I learn is from online sources, primarily Steem at the moment, which is pretty cool as there's some amazing folk here writing about it. I wish I had more time to permaculture-ify my land, but it's getting there, in my haphazard way. I've been taking time to really sit in the garden of late rather than rush around getting jobs done - just watching it and seeing how things are all working together. It's these little observances that make for a better gardener - and a better person, I hope.

thank you, I got to do it for free in Ireland, it was a back to work scheme it was the first and only year they done it, I also done a green building course. It is really important to slow down, I need to remind myself to do that too. Much love to you xx

Beautiful! You really got a lot out of that course! And taking permaculture to far deeper levels then I had ever thought about
Thanks so much for sharing - it is an inspiration!

thank you @porters, I really did get so much out of it, it really nurtured me and enriched my life xx

Beautiful post. We have to always relearning about this life again and again :)

exactly life is all about learning xx

The most powerful thing my mother used to say (at 70's office cocktail parties, much to the confusion of the people attending) was that you could learn so much from your children. The conservative bunch gathered believed it to be the other way around.

If we don't learn to understand THAT bio-dynamic farming works we will soon starve our souls (and the body will soon follow) to death.

your mother sounds amazing, not many people believe that unfortunately, feeding too much into their egos and the whole children should be seen and not heard.
Yeah bio dynamic farming is the way forward xx

Congratulations @trucklife-family, your post successfully recieved 0.179766 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@amico earned : 0.119844 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50