Permaculture Principles: Produce No Waste

in #permaculture7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Permaculture Principles: Produce No Waste


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

I enjoyed reading your blog and had a little chuckle whilst thinking about the dead kettles I have collected, the oyster shells, the unused waste bin, timber offcuts, the little hooks and screws, all sitting in my shed to be used "one day". :-)

I never realised that laundry lines were illegal in some places. But then again what isn't illegal now days.

Unfortunately, what you said about Australia is pretty close to the mark, though I would suggest more pertinent to those in the cities and suburbia.

Thanks for the comment, @birdsong.
Yes, I think we are all naturally predisposed to thriftiness, which could do wonders to our collective resourcefulness if we didn't have to hide it or apologize for it.
Laundry lines? In most urban / suburban areas of the US they are considered an eye-sore so they're not allowed.
And Australia? To tell you the truth, I can only repeat what this guy told me, and I realize there are probably examples to the contrary. Like the bush-bashers? (What to me sounded like some political thing against the former US president, my Australian friends told me was a car not licensed for public roads.) Just the existence of those shows that nothing is black and white. However, just to show perspective, in places like Germany even those wouldn't be allowed, while here in Mexico you couldn't tell the difference one way or the other.

An fun entry I made for the Urban Dictionary

Frugalicious
a delicious and frugally prepared treat or meal
Lunch was frugalicious, as usual. I love the tasty bits that leave enough room to want more and more and keep me coming back.
#tasty#delicious#frugal#common sense#sparing#thrifty#prudent#economical

by mominska August 02, 2010

Have to go out and hang the laundry on the line now...

'Sober peasant sense,' makes sense. I found this attitude with the generation that went through the great depression. They used things, reused things and then recycled.

The cultural image of class and wealth is influencing by how we consume and use, etc. and not for the best. Built in redundancy of cars and computers would also go against this view and yet the message is: buy, buy, buy.

Global economic decisions are based on outdated concepts such as GDP which considers consumption but does not consider non-wastage or sharing.

Oh yeah, I know... Thanks for bringing up these related issues (GDP and redundancy). This is the challenge with blogging: each topic is so interrelated with others that if I don't watch out I just keep on rambling without bounds, so the content becomes all-encompassing and all-deluted at the same time.
Though your mention of redundancy reminds me of a book I probably should introduce: Cradle to Cradle by McDonough and Baumgart. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5571.Cradle_to_Cradle
In it they describe how these same ideas of thriftiness can be applied to industrial production: Products would be planned so they could be easily disassembled to reuse the raw materials, saving the company most of the raw materials they depend on. A really amazing book. Now I'm not sure if I should edit this post with an extra paragraph, or rather write a separate book review...

Will check out the link...

I just came in from my HUGE vegetable garden (permaculture of course ;-) ) and i saw your post and had to steal your spoon story image and put it on my fb page ;-)

Go right ahead! I didn't make it, though it has been around the social sites for a while, so I guess even the person whose blog I took it from (all linked and referenced, of course) took it from somewhere else.

Congratulations @stortebeker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50