The Symbiosis of a Natural Swimming Pool and a Handmade Road.

in #permaculture6 years ago

I bet I got some of you going on this one!!! What is this guy talking about? The symbiosis of a natural swimming pool and a handmade road...!?!

20180420_124631.jpg

Steem line 2.png

PERMACULTURE

A philosophy of working with, rather than against nature; of protracted and thoughtful observation rather than protracted and thoughtless labour; and of looking at plants and animals in all their functions, rather than treating any area as a single product system.
Bill Mollison

I personally only heard of the concept a few years ago though the term was supposedly developed and coined by David Holmgren and Bill Mollison, back in 1978. My little family and I live in New York City, so you can imagine how much we've been able to practice permaculture!

As we plan to get out of this Concrete Jungle I can't help but think about different aspects of permaculture and learning whatever I can (when I find the time) from Youtube University and now the whole Steemit Universe and Dtube! I am telling you this to say that I am far from being an expert. Most of what I know is in theory, except for washing dishes in a permaculture kind of way (which remains to be another story I will cover later on this summer) and a few other bits and bobs I can practice in a 500 sqft apartment without a yard.

Steem line 2.png

Stacking Functions

In permaculture we speak about getting many yields (outputs) from one element (thing) in your system. For example, a tree might be an element in your system.
Source

This is one of my favorite principles of permaculture. It fits perfectly with my thinking mechanism and I have lived my life looking to stack functions without knowing it was a thing!

If the cap fits... Wear it.

Now, how is this post related to permaculture? We're talking about the relationship between natural swimming pool and a handmade Road...

Well this is where stacking functions commes into play. In a typical situation you may think that perhaps the water runoff from this handmade road would also be used to fill the natural pool and perhaps on to feeding more plants or animals and fruit trees surounding the area by design... well it's not.

The function I am stacking, (the element) is the work. My wife and I want to make a natural swimming pool. We also need to finish building a short road to the area where we will grow most of our food and build not only a gorgeous natural pool but also an abundant forest garden and our base of operations, aka The Launch Pad.

20180420_125248.jpgSee the natural dip, that's where the pool will be, with a beautiful rock wall on one side... so lovely!

There's a little area from our main driveway which needs to be filled in so the slope isn't too steep to drive small vehicles whitout a problem. I had already started this project, but with the winter snows and the rainy season we're having now, my car will not go up the hill, we need a gentle slope!!!

20180420_125203.jpg

I also need a pickup truck..I know, and a tractor and lots of other homestead tools... but for now all we have is a wheel barrel, a chain saw, some hand tools and a lot of motivation!

20180418_090616.jpgI can't get a machine now, it's lmost done... a few more slabs of shell, a couple layers of crushed stone and she'll be ready to go!

I have been taking most of the stones for the road from the area that will become the pool. There's a natural dip in the ground so we won't have to digg very deep, but why not take slabs of stone from here?

20180420_164936.jpg

20180420_124631.jpg

The one spot needs fill, while the other needs dugg... yea for me that is one aspect of Stacking Functions. When you don't have the means or the will (sometimes it is so much more pleasant to build without power tools or machines) to rent or buy machinery you find ways to make your phisical labore count for more than one thong at a time...

And that was my Symbiotic Relationship of our Natural Swimming Pool and Ohr Handmade Road

Multiply yourself through stacking functions. That is something I have practiced at work a lot and it works for me.

20180420_125120.jpgProof of a-couple-tons-of-work

Expect a post in the near future for a Natural Building Workshop here at No Man's Land in honour of @S-h-e-p!

Until next time...

Steem line 2.png

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH @stranniksenya
After all, a dream will remain a dream, if you do not start doing anything.

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.
Up-Vote, Re-Steem and Reply. Your comments are very welcome! Don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

Ever seen these guys...

Yeah so cool! I think I have seen them but it was a sped-up version of the video thanks

Ha yeah we were a bit impatient and he is yet to put water in it...

Wait a minute... what? You said we were impatient, were you part of that build?

Just watched the whole thing... This is awesome! I don't think I actually had seen this one. It was a small pool that two guys built with a palm fraun roof and all. Less intricate than this guy!

No no not part of build haha... we got impatient WATCHING and were disappointed he didn't fill it with water. Maybe that's the next one?

Haha. Afater watching I though that was what ypu had meant!

It really was disappointing without filling it up!

Man, I've wanted a homemade swimming pool for ages. Lucky you have a natural dip. We've got a good book on how to make them, with reeds to filter etc etc, but it's still pricey for the lining, sand etc to build it properly rather than just a hole that fills will water (that's a dam around here). Let me dig up the photos some guy in my local gardening group did on his property, freaking WICKED - you'd love it. Gotta get in my own garden now though, it's 9.30 a.m and I'm on Steemit? Nutballs. Gotta get out there! xxx

Haha. Yes get out there!!! I'd love to see those photos when you find them... but only if your gardening work has benn done for the day!

I here the lining is especially something we don't want to cheap out on (we're not makong a damn either!).

Enjoy the outdoors and your garden, we're on our way to No Man's Land right now.. see ya

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SenorCoconut from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I love any idea that uses what you have available and sweat to create, rather than wasting resources and adding unnecessary steps.

That road is awesome, my friend. You are not afraid to work and that's respectable.

Thank you so much man, not afraid at all and I find it really rewarding when I work for me and my family or simply if I'm learning something!

Awesome! This is gonna be a really sweet pool, especially if you let nature help you build it. All you gotta do is look carefully, and understand the way it works. The road looks fantastic, and I'm sure the pool will be just as nice.

LOL thank you, the road will look a little bit different once we have crushed stone on it but thanks anyways.

We do a lot of watching and observing on the property so I'll for sure keep it in mind for the swimming pool. Thanks for the reminder

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63152.84
ETH 3104.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84