Prayers for homesteaders.

My book came!

IMG_20181115_163310668.jpg

Looks like it even came with a piece of paper for a bookmark. Good thing, cause now I don't have to send Melissa to my junky car and get the comfrey brochure I usually use as a bookmark. The weekend can officially commence. Now to try and read it.

Sorry y'all, I'm gonna catch up, I promise. Right now, my auto voter is doing all the work for me, and my engagement sucks.

Five quick hours of sleep, and I woke up. Melissa told me my book came shortly after falling asleep. I was practically unable to read at that point, either from normal tiredness or the pain meds. Probably both, so I just went to bed lol

How's everyone's weekend lining up?

A bit off key for me, I'd like to ask everyone to pray for @goldenoakfarm with me. They're having a lot of rain and snow up that way and she's been unable to gather the leaves she needs for her chickens. As a fellow carbonaceous bandit, I can relate a bit. It'd be a downer to not be able to gather composting material. This early cold snap across the country is probably hitting a bunch of folks pretty hard.

Another one to pray for would be @mariannewest down there in California where it seems everything is catching on fire... Quite the opposite problem.

How's the weekend lining up in y'all's part of the world?

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

i hope you're enjoying the book bro! toby made a wonderful presentation in this video:

I'm about 80 pages in. This is one I'll read again when I'm done. So much information, and he's barely scratching the surface. I'm reading about soil now and it's got me so hooked. Great book already, and I'm less than half done!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for keeping me in your thoughts. So far, we have been lucky in San Diego.

You got a good book there. I am so sad that Toby passed away. He was such a nice guy!

Glad you're safe :)

That's sad that he passed. Did you know him well?

Not well. I met and talked to him at a couple of the Permaculture Voices Conferences and organized a book tour for him. He must have been sick at that point. He came late to the presentation because he had to go to the hospital.
We went to dinner and then, he went to the host family pretty fast because he was tired.
the next email, a few months later, was a fundraiser to cover medical expenses from another permaculture friend. He died 3 days after that.
He was so nice and really interested in educating people.

Thank you for your thoughts and prayers. We got 5" of snow last night, and so far, the rain hasn't melted it. It looks like it might be here to stay. No leaf removal it looks like.

A good note: One of the people who normally supply me with lots of bags of leaves did manage to get 15 raked up. The bad news, they were too wet to store. But the pen was in dire need so they all went there.

The good news: the hens were delighted! Something new besides a pumpkin to mess with. The bad news for the hens: it snowed and covered them all and we have no more to put down. The hens are in for a big surprise this morning....

Oh no! Noted: next year, pray earlier than in the face of a snowstorm!

So up there, once it snows, it stays covered the rest of winter?

With the way the weather has been for the last 5+ years, who knows? It's pretty cold this year, so it could stay.

Congratulations @nateonsteemit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2750 replies. Your next target is to reach 3000 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nateonsteemit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

howdy sir nateonsteemit! sounds like a great book, you gonna post about what you learn from it? heal up fast sir!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75