Permaculture Playing Cards: Wildcrafting

Y'all don't forget the CONTESTS built into this series. One SBI for a name, five for the needle! That makes thirty one shares for the series if someone claims the prize before the post pays out.


On to today's featured permaculture tidbit!

IMG_20181223_214856705.jpg

Wildcrafting!

While food forests are largely man-made, I see Wildcrafting as a system using subtle influence of people. Maybe you find a stand of grapes that produce well and spread a few seeds to neighboring trees. Essentially you're helping spread a natural resource to influence the establishment of a natural food forest.

That's how Nate sees it anyways. I listened to a few episodes of Permaculture Voices Podcast with Diego Footer and they were specifically talking about wildcrafting with medicinal fungi if memory serves.

I'm not sure if there's separate ethics about native and invasive species inside wildcrafting, but I imagine there is. It seems a method where that would matter a lot.

Have you tried Wildcrafting and foraging? It's something that I'm interested I and haven't messed with yet, as I'm currently focused elsewhere within permaculture. Maybe this spring I'll start looking more into it. :)

Be blessed.
Be fruitful.
Stay relevant.

Nate.


cooplogowebsite.png
Purchase sustainably produced seeds, textiles, medicines, and more for SBD from @homesteaderscoop at The Homesteader's Co-op Online Marketplace!

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPUNtMaZahB7oRoHdj6MJLjv8qH3AC8YhazjBxUjdbMw38yfKNg13WeaaBUk3BEt4xeUb8SyHVY.png
Follow @naturalmedicine and join the Natural Medicine discord channel today and come grow and learn with us!


Join us on the GHSC Discord and follow @ghscollective to become part of a global network of homesteaders!

Sort:  

giphy (16).gif
You just received a 100% upvote from @rewards-pool. Thank You for being apart of the @rewards-pool community

Wow it's been days since I've been on steemit, so you just got my truest biggest up vote for this. 😂
Wildcrafting is one of my favorite hobbies, and I'm only a beginner! The only things we've been foraging are mushrooms (which we've learned a ton about, at least in Colorado) and a few herbs. We found valerian and wormwood growing on our hiking paths, but herbs we've not learned as much about yet as I find their identification to be harder for me than mushrooms. Weirdly. In any case, it's an absolute joy, and a scavenger hunt, and a bonding experience, with your hiking partner, with nature, with self. Just beautiful.
My favorite card yet. Thanks nate!

Xx ToL

Posted using Partiko Android

Ooh, prepare your brain, cause it's gonna be picked!

There's tons of grapes around and I'm sure plenty of other things besides the dandelions that I already eat. Mushrooms grow in plenty around here, being a mature neighborhood that is heavily wooded. I've only been able to identify stinkhorn yet, but there are plenty of others around.

Oh my brain is ready. I'd love to see some mushroom pics!

Posted using Partiko Android

Man, cursive sucks, I can't read that name on my phone at all. I will go with Jocelyn Campbell

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, you're right!!! Share inbound.

I wonder if looking at a negative of the images would make the names any easier to spot?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.23
ETH 2335.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52