You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Permaculture, Homesteading, and Community Building // Business Planning and Starting a Farm

in #permaculture7 years ago

This looks like a really great setup and it isn't too hot out in Cali. My friend has a greenhouse very similar to yours here in Tucson and even with a swamp cooler to try to cool it there is no way anything can survive because it has been 110+ degrees out here. It is brutal. :-(

Sort:  

It can be very hot in many parts of Cali. It was 108 in the Sacramento Valley today. I don't think a greenhouse is meant for summer, only cold weather growing. But like I said, I think, could be wrong.

I think greenhouses are mostly to extend the growing season by making it warmer, but depending on the cover color, material, and design they can accomplish other things like light and moisture management. California weather is always surprising me. I live in the Bay Area and a drive of 15 miles can shift the temperature 20-30 degrees!

Ok yeah, extend the growing season. Maybe in the summer open it up and put some shade cloth on it for plants that don't like so much direct sunlight.

I lived in Napa for a while years ago and commuted to Vallejo. When we first moved there, being from the Sacramento area, I'd get up for work, see a nice sunny morning and think oh, a beautiful day. Then I'd drive to work, and it was cold and overcast and it didn't burn off until about noon. I learned to keep a light jacket in the car.

wrote a lil post on Greenhouses. I think it depends on what you want to grow and if you are in California, you can use a greenhouse to grow even warmer climate plants. The big one in Golden gate Park comes to mind... most of those plants wouldn't survive without a greenhouse. but I guess it depends on what you want to grow, your micro-climate and your needs... anyway, here is the article if anyone is interested: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@ecoknowme/dream-greenhouse-what-s-your-style-long-term-solutions-for-homesteaders-permaculturists-and-plant-lovers

I looked at your post and responded to it there. It's a good one!

Awesome conversation! Yes - it'll definitely get too hot in parts of California to use a greenhouse in the summer. I saw a friend use hers as an herb drying area - she emptied out the entire greenhouse, put wire racks on her shelves, and added some shade cloth.

What a great idea. Do you think that would also work to dry fruits?

I've never tried but I can imagine so, especially in warmer climates!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41