Ghost Peppers, Use Them Wisely ~ #meltyofaceoff

in #peppers6 years ago

Fully matured, from the Ozarks to Minnesota. Then from seeds to plants. And now finally back to full maturity. The @papa-pepper ghost pepper lives on.

IMG_2970.jpg

For more context, feel free to read back about the post I made 11 months ago.

@papa-pepper, being the kind genuine soul he is, shipped me some of his ridiculously hot ghost peppers. They arrived and with great conviction I set out to buy the remaining ingredients to make his signature salsa. But the story doesn't end there.

I wanted to keep this bloodline of pepper going, so I kept some seeds and planted them a few weeks later. In this post you can see them just starting to sprout.

IMG_2971.jpg

Well a few days ago I was able to pick a few off my biggest plant with ease, they were ready. Last night, like usual, the wife and I had no idea what to make for dinner. We were out and about and I remembered the peppers. So why not make a spicy Asian stir fry? Asian noodles, chicken thigh, small button mushrooms, half a white onion, half a green pepper, a sweet teriyaki sauce, and of course, half of a ghost pepper to even out the sweetness of the teriyaki sauce.

So how did it turn out? Well, let's just say that with these peppers, a little goes a loooooooooooonnnnnnnnggggggggggg way. I only used half a pepper and every single bite was excruciatingly hot. Like melt your face off hot. My wife who is 8 months pregnant, and super hangry, couldn't eat more than one bite, haha. Not so funny at the time, cause like I said, she was hangry! Apparently I over did it, and that's not just because us Minnesotans have no heat tolerance, I love spice!

IMG_2968.jpg

The remaining half of the pepper shown for scale. The other half was finely chopped and cooked along with the other veggies

I ate about 1/4 of the whole dish before all of my sinuses had cleared and my face went numb. I hope to be able to finish the rest today with the help of 8 gallons of water.

To keep the bloodline going again, I kept some seeds and stored them safely to hopefully bring these guys back to life at least one more time.

I would love to keep the chain of pepper sharing alive and well, so if you're a local Minnesotan and love spice like myself, hit me up and I would be happy to share my bounty with you.

Thanks for reading and Steem on friends.

Sort:  

Hahaha! Oh your poor wife. How did you make sure not to get any oil on your hands? We grew some Tabasco peppers and not realizing that water and soap does no good, I got oil in my eye. Ouch!!
My husband loves hot spicy foods. If your nose ain’t dripping, it ain’t hot enough. He had a fresh cayenne pepper from my mom’s garden and now he’s too nervous to try another fresh hot pepper. Lol

How did you make sure not to get any oil on your hands?

Very carefully! hahaha, I made sure not to touch the inside at all and washed my hands with dish soap and hot water, it did the job.

I did make this mistake however, at my last restaurant job. I had cut and diced a whole box of Serrano's and then went to grab a beer at the brewery across the street. I went to rub my eyes and realized my error immediately. Along with the initial burning, the following days it looked like I got punched in the eye balls. Little blood formations like a spider web, it sucked.

My dad works down the street from a restaurant in San Antonio that has one of those eating challenges that was featured on 'Man vs. Food." They have a hamburger called "The Four Horsemen" that has ghost peppers and three other ones I can't remember. He eats there for lunch all the time and sees people come in acting all tough and order the Four Horsemen. He said he's never seen someone finish it.

I think I saw that episode a while back actually. Everyone's got their chest in the air until they can't feel feel their face anymore. Tbh, the ghost pepper would probably be plenty, even with out the other three peppers. But I can see the gimmick and why they would do it.

Being from Texas, I am legally required to enjoy jalapenos, but that's as far as I go. I got nothing to prove.

The Pepper lives on! Wonderful! Sorry I missed this one, but I love that you grew the next generation! Way to go!

"The Pepper has risen." "It has risen indeed." haha, thanks. Glad to keep it going :)

I ate a whole, raw ghost pepper once. That was an interesting experience......:)

Good God man!!! How are you still alive?!?!

LOL, good question. I had about 30 minutes of some stomach pain and uncertainty, then recovered. Won't be doing it again. :)

'Uncertainty', is probably one of my greatest fears. The unknown, not necessarily worrisome, but 'what will happen?' questions roll through my mind at warp speed conjuring up every possible outcome, until the uncertainty has passed.

Glad you made it out ok :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80