When There Is No Dinner... These Guys Will Go and Catch It! - Peoplephotography by worldcapture Week #31

Here's a common sight in the lovely city of Vila do Conde... A couple of fishermen going after their dinner.


This is my submission for Week #31 of the contest People Photography by @worldcapture.


What I liked most about this scene was how long that fishing rod was. What is the length of that? I think it's at least 15 meters! Incredible.

jzibj7wxkt.jpg

Some people fish for sports... and they release the fish after they catch them, others like to eat what they catch.

I only tried fishing once - when I was a kid, with my grandfather - and it wasn't a very successful enterprise. No, I didn't catch any boots but I caught an inedible electric eel and we had to release it.

What about you? Have you ever tried fishing? How was your first time?


CameraCanon IXUS 210
LocationVila do Conde - Portugal
Edited with GIMP

Disclaimer: I had previously shared this photo over a year ago, on my post Come rain or shine, fishermen will seize the day! (May 2018)


2e4z02s5fy.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

This caption remind me to my old friends when we're in university in Banda Aceh, the poor students need to survive to have dinner or lunch 😊 they went fishing to tge nearest river from the Campus, sometimes they don't get fish but the land water clamps or baby shrimps... if they got much, they sell it for a pack of instant noodle to cook with their catch😉 .. what a simply life that nature gives us.

Thanks for your sweet comment, @cicisaja! So, how's life going over there?

I think no students doing that fishing for dinner anymore.. because the poor women around the river are dominating each inches of that river bank now 😊 they collect the clamps as their livelihood😊

I see... so they act as if they own the river. Ahahahah! 😂

It will be a shame to compete with women as old as your mother I think😉

This is a common site in my state, as there are plenty of rivers and lakes, Even in some places as there are many rainy seasons in an year even Kids used to do this. If they are lucky they will even get some fish from drains coming through the excess flowing water.

And happy to see this picture from a far away place. Thank you

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, we have a few lakes here too... and lots of rivers. And of course, the sea! There are plenty of options for fishermen.

Thanks for your visit.

Oh I remember an old story about my dinner.. Hahaha.. I wonder how you capture people's picture.. I can't do it because always afraid people will tell something seeing me capturing their picture..

The trick is to be fast on the trigger. Take the shot before people are aware of it... or else they'll turn away or cover their faces. 😂

A cool fishing rod!!!
Write more about fishing

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't know much about fishing... definitely not enough to write about it. 😛

А ты фотографируй местных рыбаков

Posted using Partiko iOS

Never tried fishing! and that fishing rod!! never seen anything of that size!!!

Yeah, that was a really big one. I wonder what kind of fish we was going after... 😔

You did not wait to see the cath ?

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trincowski
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=when-there-is-no-dinner-these-guys-will-go-and-catch-it-peoplephotography-by-worldcapture-week-31


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post had received 23.27% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal
Delegation for daily voting: 10SP-25SP-50SP-100SP-250SP-500SP-1000SP

Hi @trincowski!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.250 which ranks you at #2743 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 11 places in the last three days (old rank 2754).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 193 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I used to catch very small fish. I never got to like fishing. There was a few times a very long time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28