Good Morning Steemit from Freezing Homs

in #people5 years ago

Good morning from Homs, the city of heroes to my beloved readers here on Steemit.

It's early morning here and it's freezing, we are facing an issue with cooking gas and fuel for heating this winter, there's big shortage and demand increasing as we are going through a very cold winter.

The shortage is because the US sanctions blocking delivery of fuel to our country, blocking ways of payment and also because terrorists blew up most of our facilities for oil and gas and the Kurds under US protection control the most important oil and gas fields in the northeast of my country.

I need to prepare my nephew and niece for school and then go to my university. They were freezing all night and we tried to warm each other and cover ourselves with all the blankets we had. We didn't dare to open any door or window.

My nephew is 8 years old, he's in 3rd grade elementary school, and my niece in the same school but in the first grade, she became 6 years old last October. Their school is very crowded because the other schools are still being repaired after one terrorist group made the other school here a prison and for other horrible things.


I found this picture on the internet from last year, it's the same in all elementary schools in my country, the children wear this bright cheerful blue small uniform so nobody will feel lesser than the others because their parents didn't make as much money as the others.

I promised to take more pictures, waiting for a promised camera, mine died and there's no hope in restoring it. My mobile photos are not of good quality, once I get my new camera I'll take photos of my own and share it here, promise.I hope you are warm in your beds and had better nights than ours and pray one day the US and its friends here Israel, the Saudis and Turkey would leave us alone soon so we can get back to our normal lives like before.

Only the ordinary people are hurt badly by sanctions, but of course that was the idea to hurt the ordinary citizens and punish them for being Syrians.

God Bless You All, have to run now.

Sort:  

Congratulations @marymi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @marymi
BuildTeam wishes everyone a bullish new Year!
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97