You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Honor the Troops? Maybe We Should Hold Them Accountable Instead.

in #peace7 years ago

I am aligned that way myself. I do not think the world is ready for us to flip a switch and become "anarchist" in the classical sense overnight. I believe we need to fix some things (Especially education) before it would really work. I believe people like you and I who do not believe others should carry the burden of responsibility for us could do okay. Yet, this does not describe most of society at the moment. I would like to see critical thinking taught continuously beginning at an early age just like math, reading, history, science, etc.

If most of the population was skilled at critical thinking I believe we together could overcome most problems, would be less susceptible to emotional manipulation by common fallacies such as appeal to authority, appeal to tradition, red herrings, false dichotomies, etc. I believe then we would be in a position to actually make anarchism work.

It is definitely a challenging task, and those in power are very much against such a movement.

Sort:  

If you're interested in education, I highly recommend Free to Learn by Peter Gray. The solution to education problems may be to remove educational systems all together and let kids be free to learn through play. That, of course, would require a different economic model as we couldn't have both mom and dad working full time jobs if kids were home all day instead of being sent off to the government re-education prison camps we call schools. This may require a UBI of some kind to provide for financial needs to make this possible. Or more people should take jobs/create businesses which allow them to homeschool/unschool like we're doing. :)

I've also looked into how Finland does it and right now they seem to be giving some of the best educations in the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64848.13
ETH 3173.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55