Ladybug or Ladybird

in #pc-macro5 years ago

I am sure everybody likes the ladybirds or ladybugs. Gardeners welcome them as they kill the pests.. These little red beetles are also much loved by the children. And by me.

I made these photos in different days and you can see how different the ladybugs can be.. The colour may vary and I have seen red, orange and yellow with black dots. The number of dots also can vary.

20190612_124933.jpg

20190621_123820.jpg

20190621_123811.jpg

20190321_132906.jpg

Once a colleague of mine brought bunch of garden flowers to put in the office. There was a ladybug too, hidden inside of a flower..

20190617_083924.jpg

20190617_084001.jpg

Interesting fact I read about these extraordinary beetle is how and why it is called lady. During the Middle Ages the crops in Europe were attacked by pests and farmers began to pray to Blessed Lady, the Virgin Mary. Soon the ladybugs appeared like miracle and ate the pests thus saving the crops. The farmers then start calling them "our lady's birds" or lady beetles. The red colour represents the cloak worn by Virgin Mary and the seven dots (because at that time the seven dots red beetles have been seen) - the seven sorrows.
Source

If you follow the source link you can read more interesting facts about the ladybugs.

This post is for Butterfly Day and Insect Day, initiated by @whatisnew. Check the link Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 20 if

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for visiting.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

@nelinoeva






Sort:  

Gorgeous photographs @nelinoeva! I especially love the
fourth one from the top! We always heard them called ladybugs.
Ladybirds is much prettier sounding, less buggy! :-)

We call them kalinka in my language. 😀🐞

We call it a 'hemelbeestje' which means 'heaven-beast

It is very interesting to see how it sounds in different languages.

these are incredible photos and i love what you have to say on the subject. simple and solid, like the ladybugs.

Thank you very much for stopping by. I am glad you like them.😀

I'm always happy to see them :)

That makes us two of us. 😀

Lovely photos and the trivia is interesting too xx

Thanks a lot! Always happy to see you visiting my blog! ❤

Amazing photos as usual @nelinoevea. We haven't seen many this year and sadly our gardens show the lack of them.

FYI: The 1st and 4th photos are true lady bugs, with 7 spots. All others are Multi-colored Asian beetles that are taking over the true ladybugs. The Asian beetles can be good and harmful at the same time.

Sorry for the late reply. This is my first day back since your comment. Thanks for using #insectpub tag. : )

Thank you very much for your reply @whatisnew. 😀
This is interesting and something new to learn about the Asian beetles.

I do know a thing or two about insects. LOL! You will be an insect expert real soon. LOL!

Haha, yeah, I will become an expert.
But seriously, I have learned a lot from you.

I love to hear that you learned from me. Thank you for that! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39