New Dog Breeding Law England, UK - Beautiful Bulldogs by Beautifulbullies!

in #pc-animal6 years ago (edited)

If you know me at all you will know that my username is a little bit of an odd accident!

Basically, my name (@beautifulbullies) relates to my passion for English Bulldogs, or as we call them here in England, Bullies!!!


I am in no means referring to the human variety of 'bully', I detest any such behaviour and would never condone bullying.

So, with that out of the way, let me introduce you to a few special little guys that I had the pleasure of meeting this week!

v6b03hqrxa.jpg

These beautiful bullies come from a long line of health tested parents and grandparents and are bred for health and temperament.

Bulldogs have had a pretty raw deal in the past when it comes to bad breeding, but for the last 20 years or so, there have been major changes in the way the bulldog community breed.

r8ba70gf4e.jpg

The Bulldog Breed Council have worked tirelessly educating the public about researching their breeder before buying a puppy and also working with breeders to encourage only the best breeding practices.

These little nippers were amazing! They all had lovely open nostrils and good straight legs. They were running around playing like all healthy puppies should.

2vi8lukgf1.jpg

Their nose rolls do not overhang the nose and obstruct breathing in any way and their eyes are not covered by hanging wrinkles.

This may all sound like common sense to you guys, but believe me, I have seen some pretty bad examples of bulldogs.

It makes me so happy that breeders are putting so much time and effort into breeding health tested dogs and producing litters like these.

xhzwemtu2t.jpg

The law on Dog Breeding is due to change on the 1st October 2018. There will be a system in place whereby all breeders that make a profit selling puppies have to be a registered business and have to have a breeding licence from their local authority.

The government has stated that it is trying to crack down on puppy mills. Unfortunately, I don't think the changes will have the desired effect.

Lots of 'Puppy Farms' are already licenced and are registered businesses. In fact some are even KC assured breeders! The law change won't stop them doing what they are doing in the slightest.

tclj9oy0o3.jpg

In my opinion, the best way to stop puppy mills from churning out sick puppies is to enforce health testing parents and only breeding from healthy dogs in the first place.

There is absolutely no reason to breed from a sick or unhealthy dog, you are likely reproducing the issues in the next generation and why would anyone consciously want to breed sick puppies unless it is for financial gain? There is no reason.

So for me, the new law is a step in the right direction, but not thought through well enough. Compulsory health testing should be the way forward, but then the government wouldn't benefit financially from this... (conspiracy theory time?!)

Only the puppies, the puppy owners and all future generations of bulldogs would benefit from health testing... but wait... isn't that what it should be all about?!! YES!!!

0u72kgjsfu.jpg

I want to end this post on a happy note. I really enjoyed my time with these beauties. Here are some amazingly well bred puppies and I think the breeder should be very proud to have produced them! Bravo for the time and effort gone into this litter!

Thank you so much for reading!


All the images in this post are my own and the puppies are NOT for sale.

Much love, @beautifulbullies xx


20180516_002249_0001.png




Sort:  

I cant speak for this breed, but dog breeders are a funny lot.

When we tried to buy Shadow as a pup, the breeder was not convinced we were dog people and he didn't really want to part with him.

It seems to be a club which you need to gain membership to, to get a well bred dog. Ours cost £800 and he worked out great. The temperament on him is perfect. except that hes too softy to protect @bingbabe and would sell his soul for a biscuit.

Haha the sign of a great dog ;) I bet you would be surprised though how protective he would be if he needed to be. My gsd is so soft but there was an incident where I felt threatened and she put herself between me and the threat and although she never attacked she made him very aware that he was not getting anywhere near me!

FOR TSE: What a wonderful post! I enjoyed the story of the baby bulldogs a lot. (And I know I've heard a lot of stories about unscrupulous dog breeders. It's not just a problem in England.)

The second picture reminds me of our Winston -- who is a lhasa apso, so he's long-haired, but the basic body shape is the same. (So is the expression on his face.) He's a chunky monkey, too, but he likes it that way.

Lhasa apsos were originally bred to reside in Buddhist temples and let the monks know of intruders. Believe me, Winston is good at that. His bark, while not at all frequent, will go through you like a sword. No kidding. It's a bawling squall of alarm, and he will not shut up until whatever he's upset about gets fixed.

Also ... true to his Buddhist heritage, he insists on Peace in the Valley around here. He's been dubbed The Great Sheriff of the House because whenever any of the cats start getting into a row, he hops up and trots over to where the battle lines are being drawn. He places himself squarely between the would-be combatants ... and growls softly until one of them backs down.

It's the most remarkable thing I've ever seen. He just will not abide trouble if he can stop it. The United Nations could do with a few more like him. He is the perfect personality and temperament for us now. I've enjoyed him so much in the years that we've had him.

I'm convinced though that he thinks he owns this place and that we work for him. Perhaps you recognize that attitude.

Haha yes, they can be quite dominant for a little breed can't they! So much character! :D I think more people should follow dog's examples, the world would be a much more peaceful place ;)

@bingbabe has told me that he has not defended her before from a group of chav's who were berating her.

He did once though with my mother, when a visitor arrived in her house. He stood in the middle and growled. I have yet to see this from him.

I always follow my dogs' lead. If they don't like someone, I don't like them either lol

They are adorable. I am very cynical about politicians, sadly - in general, they give in to whoever lobbies them the hardest and to whatever brings forth the most cash.

I am convinced that there must have been some of this going on too. There are to many questionable points to it that are irrelevant. hmmm...

I have to say the quality of these photographs is outstanding, it has to help the subjects are super cute and adorable - but every one is super precise clear and perfectly framed.

I think it is definitely positive the government is looking to control dog breeding - as you say profit is too tempting and no doubt there is far too much breeding of poor stock which will sell well as a puppy but cost the owner in the long run dealing with health issues.

I am not a dog owner although many family members are, we don't have the space or time to properly care for one. It's a big responsibility owning a dog, and I often think too many people jump into it without realising how much of an investment in time and money it will be.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thank you so much, I am happy you like the photos! :)
I absolutely agree with you about the huge responsibility of dog ownership! People don't take it seriously enough. I have 5 dogs and it is like having 5 babies. They need you for everything. My son is 13 now and I should be starting to enjoy little freedom, but I had the bright idea that more dogs would be awesome xD I love it really :) We do everything based around our dogs, even out holidays are usually in a cottage in Wales so that we can take the dogs with us! It wouldn't be the same without them. I am at home all day though. I don't think it is fair to have a dog of you are out of the house for 9 hours a day. They need human companionship as well as the basics like food, water, access to a toileting area and exercise. Thank you so much for your comment!

great post and nice way of explaining your stance on bullying and bulldogs! the pups are gorgeous and great photos! hooray for laws going in the positive direction and i totally agree. :)

Thank you so much! Yes, at least they are trying to do something which is better than ignoring the issue. I personally think that the Bulldog Breed council is doing more for the welfare of the breed than either the government or the Kennel Club, which shouldn't be the case. But we soldier on and hope for better days ahead! :)

@beautifulbullies that is so very encouraging and a beautiful initiative to be apart of. blessings

I wondered before and now I know the reason of your handle. Anyway cute bulldogs. :)

hehe yes, it is a talking point ;)

As i once said to you: I WANT ONE! Those little meatballs are so cute!

they really are aren't they! :D

Ughhh I loveeeee bulldogs, they are one of my favorite breed of dogs! Glad that the government is involved in taking such steps to ensure their welfare. May more good works continue!

As much as I want to say something intelligent about sharing your opinion on puppy mills, I spent so much time hyperventilating over OMGCUTEPUPPIIIIIIIIIEEEEEEEES I can't think straight now.

hahahaha this made me laugh out loud! Yes, they are amazing puppies. I literally lay on the floor in the garden with them and let them jump all over me! It was so much fun! I was supposed to be there for a photoshoot, but I ended up spending most of my time with puppy cuddles xD

The American Kennel Club is a joke for registrations. Once you have a registered dog (which is never, ever checked for any sort of confirmation) you can sell puppies.

In the US, it's absolutely up to the individual Associations. My two experiences show me that the Springer Spaniel group does a very good job and their blood lines can be trusted. The Rottweiler group not so much. When I got my Rotty the first 'registered' pup I looked at was off colored. While I am looking for a companion dog and color isn't primary with me, it was an AKC registered pup that was out of confirmation.

I ended up doing mass research on lines and breeders, and ended up with a truly great dog. But 99% are not bought to those sorts of standards, and the breeding goes on and on.

I also have to say that I am over the moon with my current dog. He's half Rhodesian Ridgeback and probably half boxer.

Which is a long winded way of saying I'm glad the UK is at least trying to stem the problem. And I'm really glad you shared these photos of the glorious pups. Thank you.

There are unfortunately a lot of bad breeders out there and I am sure the new law won't stop them, but at least they are trying to do something. Researching the breeder is the only way to make sure you are buying from a reputable breeder imo. It sounds like you did your research well, I wish more people would do this! We wouldn't need laws like these to be passed then because nobody would buy from the bad breeders and they would stop doing it.
I would LOVE to see pictures of your dogs Big T! :D So glad you enjoyed the photos, thank you for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82