Real Life Pay It Forward....Part 2 Xmas is happening

in #payitforward6 years ago

Ok I'm going to start with I'm an idiot and didn't think about blogging when this happened, so no photos. Then again I didn't do it for the blogging aspect and really only am sharing because I hope it inspires some of you to do more to help others.

giphy.gif

Mom of 3, Maria

I shared the story about what happen at Walgreens a couple days ago. The part I left out was that I gave my phone number to Maria. At that time I actually still didn't know her name as she was kind of overwhelmed by the whole thing and was a little distrusting of my intentions. While she loved what I was doing for her, she admitted she thought maybe I was looking for something in return. Who knows why, but each person has their own life experiences that makes you judge situations, comments, and actions differently.

Back to the story. I had given her my phone number as she had 2 girls (and a boy) who weren't properly dressed for the cold and we had a ton of girl clothes that my Wife had saved just in case someone needed them. With amazing Grandparents who love to spoil the girls we always had an abundance of clothes for them and some even with tags still on them.

So when Maria called me and said she would take me up on the offer, but wanted to meet back at Walgreens parking lot I was very excited to be able to help her. Got the sizes of the girls clothes and shoes, plus asked about her son's sizes even though I directly couldn't help on that.

We had no issue outfitting the kids with winter clothes, boots, hats, and gloves along with plenty of clothes in the next size up for spring time. Also managed to find clothes for the boy without even leaving our block as a couple neighbors gladly pitched in.

Toys for Tots...not this year

Each year as someone that runs a toy business I give a bunch of toys to the Toys for Tots toy drive. It's a great program putting toys in the hands of those in need. But this year I won't be doing this.

Instead I put together an entire Xmas worth of gifts from Santa and from Mom to make sure the kids had an amazing Xmas. Not talking about a couple presents per kid, no this year the kids will be spoiled. Disney movies for the stockings, Build a Bear, Barbie, Hot Wheels, Marvel figures, Disney figures, LeapPad, and so much more.

I made sure that Maria found someone to watch the kids so she could come and see everything without spoiling the surprise for the kids and it was a good thing. There was so much stuff it didn't all fit in the trunk of her car...lol.

Maria's background

Now that Maria saw that the intentions of what I was doing had no extra expectations she was much more open with me. Her and Daddy had moved up from Texas this past spring for work and they really didn't know anyone around here or have any proper Winter clothing. Her baby daddy (never married) had left for a different job out of state 4 months ago and after a couple months stopped sending money back, then a few weeks later sent a text saying he wasn't coming home as he found a new girlfriend. She is trying to figure out how to get child support out of him, but that takes a lawyer and she doesn't even know where he is. She had a job before he left as they took turns who was home with the kids, but when he left she had to stop working which was fine at first as the money being sent home was more then they both were earning combined before. But once he stopped sending money home things got hard fast.

She is back working now for a week and her first paycheck will be on the 21st or maybe on the 14th for 1 days work. Either way she is behind on all her bills and was not going to be able to provide a real Xmas for the kids. Now she will be able to and not worry about spending a penny on anything related to that. Also grabbed a gift card for $250 to Walmart so she can buy groceries or whatever else she needs around the house. That was money I had planned to use to purchase some Steem and Power Up, but to me this was much more important. Will find a way to power up more later.

Pay It Forward

Maria said she would pay me back once she had a few paychecks and caught up. I told her not to even think about that, but rather when she was had the opportunity I wanted her to Pay It Forward to someone else. That it wasn't about the dollar amount that I gave her, but rather to just look for an opportunity to do something to help someone else just because it's the right thing to do. She promised she would and I believe her.

So I challenge you to go out and be part of the solution. The media and governments of the world seem hell bent on trying to create racial, religious, and economic divide between their people. But don't fall for their bullshit, people are just people and their skin color, religious beliefs, or financial status don't mean anything. We are all on this earth for a short time so why not spend that time loving life instead of focusing on hate.

Sort:  

If I could, I'd give you a big fat hug right now!!!

I agree completely ... the world needs more love :) This is what life is all about!!

Love hugs...I'll take one anytime you want to give one.

Nicely put and a wonderful gesture.

We are all on this earth for a short time so why not spend that time loving life instead of focusing on hate.

Great attitude!

We should be able to elect politicians with that philosophy, as that would make a BIG impact on the World. Sadly, we keep electing the same egotistical, warmongering jerks ... over and over again.

I'd like to ask you to participate in my Art Curation Initiative #5

Problem is someone that actually cared about the people never stands a chance to raise the money needed to campaign. It takes big money to get elected even for nonsense local positions at which point you owe people favors.

Hola @thedarkhorse, que historia tan bella, me has conmovido mis ojos se nublaron de llanto. Para María y sus hijos eres un Papá Noel pero también eres un ángel, que Dios te bendiga y te de muchos años más de vida.

You made me cry ... this is a true Christmas story ... Definitely God puts an angel in the way of the just! God bless you for such a beautiful gesture ... I am sure that Mary will always have you in her prayers ... I was so saddened by what happened to Mary with her husband and with the work ... I will be praying for her so that Soon all her life will settle.
Blessings ... you are an angel.

You got a 82.68% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @thedarkhorse!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @thedarkhorse!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.176 which ranks you at #2991 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 2995).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #144.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey @thedarkhorse, thank you for you great post and for the delegation ;)

Today I celebrate my 25th post of my young Steemit career and made a resume. Since you are a big part of it, I mentioned you in some kind lines.

Keep up the good work buddy and steem on!
Lets grow this superb community :)
Cheers,
M

I know that you're not doing this because of this Xmas @thedarkhorse. You have a kind heart and I hope that heart will keep on beating 💖 okay.. shining too.
I'm so grateful for what You'vecdone to Maria and her children, wish that she'd live better without irresponsible man like her baby daddy and this remind me to a friend who always gives his 50 cents for a movement to build a house for single mom in my hometown, that 50 cents is his nett income from selling soybean milk everyday.

Thanks for sharing and wish you a wonderful Xmas and many happy returns

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91